Kerf Design

10 Feb

We visited another house designed by Fred Bassetti, the same architect for our house.  (More on that later if they let me share the photos!)  Of every cool thing I saw in that house, and there was plenty, I fell in love with the original cabinets.  Yep, an entire kitchen full of the original plywood cabinets and the (almost) original stainless countertops.

But where does one find such things in this day and age?  Our kitchen was renovated about 20 years or so (I’d guess) with a more traditional cabinet choice for that time, as you can see.

Unfortunately, while nice cabinetry (made nicer with our paint job!),  they don’t quite go with our vision of what a mid-century kitchen should look like.

I loved the cabinets in this other Bassetti designed house on the island and would love to get something close to this.  But beyond, IKEA, where does one look?

Then I saw and ad for Kerf Design in the most recent issue of Atomic Ranch.

Located right here in Seattle, Kerf makes ‘plywood cabinets and furniture for the modern home.’  Their website has one of my favorite quotes about form following function. 

“If it is not useful or necessary, free yourself from imagining that you need to make it.”

Sigh.

So join me in my fantasy kitchen (and bathroom) indulgence with the following photos.  Such wonderful inspiration for dreaming…

Ummm…yes, please?

7 Responses to “Kerf Design”

  1. Dana@Mid2Mod February 11, 2013 at 11:44 am #

    Those cabinets are so gorgeous! I’m in the middle of changing my mind for the umpteenth time over what cabinets to put in my new apartment. I keep having to remind myself that this is NOT the main house on the property, and my champagne taste is going to cost me a ton of money that I’ll never get back when I sell the house if I’m not careful. I never realized how much more expensive slab doors are than the traditional ones with raised or recessed panels!!!

  2. Nancy Mingis February 11, 2013 at 2:57 am #

    Hi Brandy,
    Do you think our house is a Fred Bassetti design? I believe it might be. We have those plywood cabinets in the kitchen and bathrooms.

  3. midcenturyobsession February 10, 2013 at 2:24 pm #

    I am writing a piece about re-vamping my kitchen this week. A kitchen update is somewhere in the future and this is exactly the kind of inspiration I need. Awesome stuff. I’d love to reference your blog in mine. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Rebecca@MidCenturyModernRemodel February 10, 2013 at 1:24 pm #

    I am beginning to think about a kitchen re-do, more mid-century and much more functional. Thanks for the Kerf tip. I checked them out.

    • Brandy@midcenturymodernlove.com February 10, 2013 at 1:36 pm #

      Kitchen re-dos are so stressful I think. It’s such a huge investment you only have one chance to get it right, you know?

  5. sarah @ homeologymodernvintage February 10, 2013 at 1:19 pm #

    swooning…

Leave a Reply

