The Magnificent Maeve

23 Jan

In the past few posts about our bedroom redux, I have mentioned that we need a piece of artwork over the bed.  But what to choose?

P1160271

Well, duh.  I have one of the world’s most amazing artists living under my mid-century roof:  The Magnificent Maeve.  And if you don’t think she is magnificent, check out her blog BluePaperLanterns.  So I commissioned a painting from her.  I agreed to pay $50 plus supplies.  I showed her some images that I liked as inspiration, like the one below.  But I also told her I wanted her to do it however she pleased.  I’d like the colors to work with the room but other than that to go wild.

Mid Century Modern Art Painting Eames Era Tiki 60's Retro danish modern Modernist 60s

Well, she started it today and already I am amazed!  I can’t wait to see how it turns out.  Right now it’s looking like aboriginal art and it was inspired by the artist Yayoi Kusama.  And yes, she’s doing it with a Q-Tip.  I can’t wait to see the final product!

P1160253

P1160254

P1160264

P1160255

10 Responses to “The Magnificent Maeve”

  1. chatalee February 3, 2013 at 12:02 am #

    You finally asked her! And then your daughter agreed! Wow, what an amazing family you have. Joyous.

  2. allison January 26, 2013 at 4:42 pm #

    Hi there! Just came across your blog whilst on a search of others with a mid-century mod theme. There are quite a few out there, and I think yours is most definitely one of the best! So glad I found you! I just began blogging two weeks ago to document our renovation of a mid-century home, and like you, have a family (4 kids) along for the ride. How wonderful to have a daughter helping out to make your home so mod and personal! Look forward to reading more from you!

  3. Rebecca@MidCenturyModernRemodel January 23, 2013 at 9:07 pm #

    Looks very nice. Great pointillism technique! The price so reasonable.

  4. Dana@Mid2Mod January 23, 2013 at 9:48 am #

    Maeve is truly, truly magnificent. She is one extremely talented young woman, and I know you are bursting with pride and appreciation that she’s creating what looks to be a fabulous piece of art for your bedroom. I can’t wait to see it when it’s finished.

  5. Alex @ northstory January 23, 2013 at 9:07 am #

    WOW! That’s going to look amazing. Can’t wait to see it when it’s done!

  6. Brooke January 23, 2013 at 8:59 am #

    That’s really cool. Can’t wait to see the final product.

  7. holly January 23, 2013 at 8:46 am #

    This looks great! I can’t wait to see how it turns out 🙂

  8. susie January 23, 2013 at 8:09 am #

    Maeve, this is awesome so far!!! You have wonderful talent.Love ya, Susie

Leave a Reply

