More George…

25 Nov

Because clearly this weekend, I can’t get enough George.

You know how sometimes you want something so badly and for so long that when you finally get it, it can’t possibly measure up to your imagination and expectations?  Well, that’s not what happened.

I have pined and dreamt of a George Nelson bubble lamp for as long as I can remember.  (Okay, total hyperbole, but roll with me here, people.)  So when my birthday came last month and I got birthday money from family (I heart birthday money!), I decided to take the plunge and buy myself a bubble lamp. 

At first, I didn’t want to pay full price for a new one.  Plus, I had heard other bloggers wax on about how lovely the warm light was from the vintage ones.  However, as I looked at Ebay and other sites, I just didn’t have the confidence in the state of the lamps that I wanted to.  And honestly, the prices weren’t that much better.  (What has happened to Ebay?  It is IMPOSSIBLE to get a good deal there anymore.) And because I seem to have a ‘why pay less’ disorder, I went to Modernica and bought a new one…a 25″ saucer for $329. The good news?  No tax and no shipping, so that made me feel a little better.

What also made me feel better was getting rid of this:

Now to be perfectly honest, I didn’t find this fixture as offensive as some other members of the family. In fact, I kind of liked its very atomic MCM vibe. However, once that big white box appeared on my doorstep, I knew me and the Jetsons light fixture were going our separate ways. (Any thoughts on what I should do with it? Is it worth putting on Craigslist? Think anyone would want it?)

I love Thanksgiving and I love cooking for a crowd, so more than anything I wanted that lamp up for my Thanksgiving dinner.  And you know what I am thankful for?  A husband who not only know how to do things like that, but who also does it willingly on Thanksgiving day so my vision would be complete.  Now the dining room is almost finished.  Just need a rug and to recover the chairs of our wonderful Drexel dining room chairs.

8 Responses to “More George…”

  1. midcenturyobsession November 26, 2012 at 10:07 am #

    Brandy, Happy Birthday, and congrats on your new hot lamp! I have to concur on the Ebay comment. It’s gone from reasonable to ridiculous – especially for MCM. I much prefer Etsy now….and on a personal note, Craiglisting the old one would probably be your best bet-but get ready to weed through the scammer emails. Best of luck!

  2. Stacey November 26, 2012 at 8:26 am #

    YAY, Brandy! I know you’ve been wanting one for such a long time. It looks wonderful! Perfect for your home and decor. I have both “vintage” yellow ones and a new white one from Modernica…. I PREFER THE NEW. So you did good. I know, I know… those vintage ones and their “aged” glow are sought after but they put out a funky yellow light that almost makes everything look dingy. Not that I’m complaining. I have three that are “yellowish” and they’re not going anywhere but the white one I have is AWESOME and the glow is so pure and clean. I’m glad you went with the new one… you won’t regret it!

    A great birthday present for you, my dear. I LOVE IT!

  3. Rebecca@MidcenturyModernRemodel November 25, 2012 at 5:29 pm #

    It looks mighty good. My mom had two Nelson lamps up during the seventies. And my dad smoked as did MANY people. Those old Nelsons are yellow for a reason. Honestly, I would buy new with these.

  4. Dana@Mid2Mod November 25, 2012 at 8:49 am #

    The saucer is my favorite shape, and it looks great over your table!

Leave a Reply

