Master Bedroom Redux Part 2

6 Nov

I’ll get to the punchline and save you any more suspense after yesterday’s post:  It worked.  Oh yeah, it really worked.  If you didn’t read yesterday, what worked was painting over the bedroom wallpaper.  We followed m all the steps:  gluing down loose seams, mudding over them and sanding down the mud when dried.  To be honest, the wallpaper walls look better than the one with the wallpaper removed.

Maeve and I headed to Home Depot to find the right gray for the painting.  You all know what challenges I have with picking gray paint.  And Maeve, my artist extraordinaire, has an eye for color and I knew she wouldn’t steer me wrong.  I needed a gray that was more tan than blue.  After much debate and her convincing me that this was the right color, we landed on Silver Tinsel by Behr.  The premium Behr paint has primer in it and I was hoping this would help with the pattern of the wallpaper.

And it did.  Only took one coat.  Seriously.  Don’t think I’ve ever seen Brett so happy about a paint as he was about this one.  Got painted in just a few hours and then I could hang my art work and really move in.

We started here:

And currently are landing here:

What is still outstanding…

light fixtures…maybe these?  I think they’d look nice with the patter on the curtains.

MASKROS Pendant lamp IKEA Projects decorative patterns onto the ceiling and on the wall.

Also, art is needed above the bed.  The pop art piece is too square.  I think it needs something long and rectangular.  If I were a bazillionaire, I would buy this piece from one of my favorite artists Barbra Kruger.

Unfortunately, there aren’t even reproductions of this available.  (That I could find anyway.  If you know where to get one, please please tell me!)  I started looking on Etsy because I love supporting small production artists.  I found this by Jestsetretrodesign:

Mid Century Modern Art Painting Eames Era Tiki 60's Retro danish modern Modernist 60s

I think it would look great above the bed.  And while the price isn’t too precious ($250), it’s still more than I want to spend on something that isn’t Barbara Kruger.  I wonder if I could get Maeve to paint something similar.  Bet I could.  What do you think?

17 Responses to “Master Bedroom Redux Part 2”

  1. Chris November 28, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

    Is that really a lichtenstein? I looked all over for it and can’t find it! Yes I am a design their! Sue me! 🙂

    • Brandy@midcenturymodernlove.com November 28, 2012 at 5:29 pm #

      It’s not! It’s a painting from an artist I know called Smirky. Do a search for him on my blog and you will see a few references!

      • Chris November 28, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

        Ah yes. I did a web search and now I see! I love his or her stuff! I will look on your blog too as soon as I get a chance! Thanks!

  2. Rebecca@MidcenturyModernRemodel November 6, 2012 at 7:01 pm #

    Looking good. So I didn’t know you had a daughter artist. Yes, she should do it. I like the orange painting, but honestly, pull out a bunch of pictures to inspire her. Bet she could do it.

  3. Ida November 6, 2012 at 10:55 am #

    You have an incredibly talented daughter…I vote she paint something that will be more special because she did it.

    • Brandy@midcenturymodernlove.com November 7, 2012 at 9:44 am #

      I totally agree. I am having her get on it this weekend! When can you guys come over and see what we’ve done? Glad you’re back!

  4. artinpublicplaces November 6, 2012 at 9:49 am #

    Nice grey. IMHO the closet door should be changed or better yet, painted with chalkboard paint (with suitable drawing or writing marks). The door also needs a nice header with 5″ wide door casing. Door casing can be made by hubby with 1X5″ fingerjointed pine, using router to round edges.

    Since you are a patron of the arts, here is a link to an affordable EBay artist you might enjoy* –> jonczyk.com

    Chris

    * — no relative of mine;)

  5. Angela November 6, 2012 at 9:42 am #

    Looks Great! I am happy you found a way to cover the wallpaper, really an inspiration for us all! Can I ask you where you found your bed?

  6. Alex @ northstory November 6, 2012 at 9:04 am #

    I can’t even get past the “Nice Pants…” photo. I’m still laughing!

    • Brandy@midcenturymodernlove.com November 7, 2012 at 9:38 am #

      That is one of my favorite pieces of artwork in the house. I wrote about the painter in my Pop Art post, still one of the most popular posts I’ve written.

      • Alex @ northstory November 7, 2012 at 10:18 am #

        How the hell did I miss that??! This may be a case of the time I commented on Stacey’s post at A Goode House ogiling one thing in the post and then not realizing at a later date in a different subject one I had already seen the original. Sigh. Either way, hilarious!

      • Brandy@midcenturymodernlove.com November 7, 2012 at 10:21 am #

        I was thinking about Stacey the other day and how I haven’t seen a post from her in a while. I miss her!

  7. Dana@Mid2Mod November 6, 2012 at 8:38 am #

    Before I got to the end of your post, I was already thinking, “Get Maeve to do it!” I know she could come up with something wonderful, and it would mean so much to you.

    The paint color looks fantastic. I’m going to be needing a pale gray soon that is more brown than blue, so you’ve given me a starting place. Thanks!

    • Brandy@midcenturymodernlove.com November 7, 2012 at 9:38 am #

      Thank you! I love this gray and I have had some serious challenges with it. And yes, Maeve is going to paint it for me. $50 plus supplies is what I am being charged. I think it’s a fair deal!

Leave a Reply

