Master Bedroom Redux Part 1

5 Nov

For me, the bedroom is my sanctuary.  I don’t have a room of my own in this house, as I have bemoaned in other posts.  The girls have their bedrooms. Brett has his man cave.  So for me, the bedroom is the closest to my own little private world that I have.

The idea of what I want my bedroom to look and feel like has been rolling about in my head for months.  The first decision I landed on  was gray.  I wanted a gray bedroom because I find it to be soothing and enveloping color.  Then I decided I wanted gray with yellow accents.  The search for the perfect duvet ended at West Elm.  So did the search for the perfect curtains.  Not the ones I thought I would want; something even better.

Linen Cotton Duvet Cover + Shams - Slate

Queen Anne's Lace Printed Panel

I tried these out with a yellow pillow and my favorite pop art painting. My bedroom isn’t really my bedroom until that painting and my Buddha wall hanging grace the walls.   At first, I liked the idea.  Still needed more to flesh out, but the right direction.

But, how fickle is woman?  Especially me.  Ans especially under the spell of something gorgeous and orange.  And because I was on a West Elm tear, I couldn’t resist these lamps.

Mia Table Lamp - Paprika

Okay.  Plan B.  Not yellow.  Orange.  Put it all together.  Nice.  But.  There is still the matter of wallpaper.  I won’t hang pop art or Buddha until the wallpaper is down and the walls are a lovely shade of gray.  Ugh.

Thus began the tedious process of wallpaper removal.  And you all know how much I love doing THAT.  In fairness, I did painfully little of it.  Brett, a steamer and a scraper spent the better part of two days and only conquered one wall.  We are lucky to have a very large bedroom.  Unlucky however in that it means a ridiculous amount of wallpaper to remove.  The wall stayed blank with no paper and lots of glue for a few weeks.  The next step was to use TSP to remove the glue.  Feeling badly that I hadn’t helped with the removal of the paper, I offered to do the TSP.  Brett has a major aversion to this job and avoid it until I volunteered.  Now I know why.  Excuse my language, but that job is a total bitch.  I spent a Saturday with TSP and a scrub brush and multiple towels removing copious amounts of sticky gooey glue.

And I hate to admit it.  But it beat us.  It beat us down good.  We surrendered to the wall paper.  Over dinner one night, we had the conversation that started with ‘What if…’  As in, what if we painted over the rest?  What if we broke the cardinal wallpaper rule and just painted over it?  Writing that makes me a little nervous even now.

I mean, we’re rebels, right?  I think I was recently described as upscale bohemian nonconformist.  I am modern woman, carefree and unencumbered by convention.  (I am starting to feel like a maxi-pad commercial.  Or one for Virginia Slims.)  Plus, we’d flirted with this before and painted over impossible to remove wall-paper backing.  Successfully. 

So the more wine we drank, the more we decided this was a clever idea.  Plus, to be honest, the state of the wall behind the wallpaper we removed wasn’t all that great.  That’s one of the biggest issues with removing wallpaper and carpet.  You  never know what you’re going to get.  (Oh wait, that’s a box of chocolates.)  I did my research.  Some people paint over wallpaper successfully and live to tell about it.  In fact, the DIY network even has a video tutorial on how to do it.

You know how much I love leaving you in suspense.  We did it.  And tomorrow, I’ll share the results!

4 Responses to “Master Bedroom Redux Part 1”

  1. Rebecca@MidcenturyModernRemodel November 5, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

    We have painted over the dreaded wallpaper. Several times. And no one is the wiser.

  2. Nancy Mingis November 5, 2012 at 8:23 pm #

    After trying to remove wallpaper from a guest bathroom wall years ago, we ended up putting in new dry wall!

  3. susie November 5, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

    I can’t wait to see the results, tomorrow!

  4. Dana@Mid2Mod November 5, 2012 at 12:13 pm #

    I’ve painted over wallpaper successfully…but never without holding my breath, worried that it would buckle and pucker when wet.

Leave a Reply

