DIY Marimekko

1 Oct

You all know about my unbridled affection for Marimekko so I had to share this via Remodelista.  I believe the first image may have been posted before, but I want to revisit it because I have some extra time this week.  After a few months of insane travel, I took some time off to reacquaint myself with my family (“Hello, girls.  Remember me?  I’m your mom.”)  I also plan do a little work around the house and the blog, which means the draught of the past few weeks is over.  Get your umbrellas friends, as it’s going to pour.

Are you an admirer of Marimekko’s graphic black and white ceramics? But don’t want to spend $22 for a mug? Read on for ideas on how to recreate the look for less.

Above: Plates and bowls painted by Jennifer Hagler (she writes the blog A Merry Mishap). Hagler used cheap white china and a porcelain pen from her local crafts store.

Above: Mugs painted by Abbey Hendrickson (of Aesthetic Outburst).

Above: A few more ideas, from Swedish ceramicist Kajsa Cramer.

4 Responses to “DIY Marimekko”

  1. Rebecca@MidcenturyModernRemodel October 1, 2012 at 9:31 pm #

    It is a good idea. I like the circle circle plates at the top.

  2. Dana@Mid2Mod October 1, 2012 at 4:00 pm #

    What a great idea! I especially love the ones in the last photo.

Leave a Reply

