Bohemian Apartment

14 Sep

Okay, I have to say, I love this.  But you should read the comments on the Contemporist regarding this post.  Yikes.  People either loved it or hated it.  It does bring my split-color-personality to the forefront.  Do I want a color frenzy like this or the cool neutrals of contemporary design?  As much as I gravitate to the neutrals in my preferences, I can’t seem to go there in our home.  Obviously.  Green.  Orange.  Teal.  I’m a colorful girl, what can I say?  (And no, I don’t just mean my language, Mom.)  Do you think I may still not be over Orla?

Incorporated Architecture & Design have designed the “Bohemian Apartment” in New York.

ba_050912_02

 ba_050912_03
ba_050912_08a
 
ba_050912_07
ba_050912_16
ba_050912_17
ba_050912_19

Interiors: Incorporated Architecture & Design

Photography: Annie Schlechter

6 Responses to “Bohemian Apartment”

  1. Rebecca@MidcenturyModernRemodel September 14, 2012 at 8:52 pm #

    Honestly, it is 100% pure art. It is beautiful. I would never do it and couldn’t live with it. But I can appreciate the colors, patterns and shapes and enjoy it as art.

  2. Dana@Mid2Mod September 14, 2012 at 11:52 am #

    When I was a classroom teacher, I wouldn’t let students say they hated a piece of literature or that it was “stupid.” They had to explain why they didn’t like it, using literary terms. It was fine if they thought the plot was weak or the characters weren’t well developed…but “dumb” showed lack of thought and analysis. I feel the same way if a reader simply calls a design ugly or ridiculous…and had to say so on the Contemporist site.

    I love color and pattern, but the colors in most of these rooms are a little too saturated for my taste, and I do pattern in small pops, rather than on every wall. I much prefer the way you framed your Orla wallpaper samples to introduce a bold print into the room and tie all your colors together. That’s much less overwhelming to me.

    That said, I can see how those rooms would really appeal to a younger and more adventuresome decorator than I am.

    • Brandy@midcenturymodernlove.com October 2, 2012 at 8:51 am #

      I applaud your approach. Words are so powerful that it’s a shame not to use them expressively. And you are right, I love the color and patterns but I know I would never be bold enough to do it. Plus, I think you need a large disposable income so that when you tire of the statement, you can make another one!

  3. Brooke September 14, 2012 at 11:02 am #

    I loved the nursery & kids room

Leave a Reply

