Buy Me!

11 Aug

Apparently this is my new hobby, finding mid-century homes on the island that I wish I could snatch up and restore.  The last one I posted about is still for sale.  Here’s another one.  Look at the gorgeous wood and light fixtures.  I can only imagine what must be beneath the carpet.  Hopefully more wood!

I love the almost vintage kitchen and the built-in intercom.  I remember my grandparents having one of those and I thought it was the coolest most Jetson thing in the world.  It definitely needs some love. (Did you see the ceiling in the bedroom??)  But for the price, this house has all the bones of a great MCM project.

$538,000 with three bedrooms and two baths.

10 Responses to “Buy Me!”

  1. Pippa August 12, 2012 at 2:52 am #

    The wood panelling and kitchen tiles are lovely!

  2. findmesomething August 11, 2012 at 3:13 pm #

    i must have this house.

  3. pgmodmarketing August 11, 2012 at 12:04 pm #

    It’s a beauty, even down to the nutone intercom/radio. The soffit lighting is so period too. Do you think it could be redwood, King house has redwood interior and exterior that looks similar… Lynne

    • Brandy@midcenturymodernlove.com August 13, 2012 at 7:32 am #

      I do believe it’s cedar. Most of the homes around here have that. And NuTone! That’s what the intercom is called. I couldn’t remember. Thank you!

  4. Dana@Mid2Mod August 11, 2012 at 10:09 am #

    Love all that wood, and I bet you’re right about what’s hiding underneath the carpet. Someone will have a gorgeous place when it’s all fixed up.

  5. DeDe August 11, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    wow, that is gorgeous- everything it perfect- especially that one pendant light fixture. I wonder why the carpet is there. Seems so out of place. Hopefully, it is not concealing some horrible secret. And that price ain’t bad! Is this Long Island??? We are in NYC- just wondering.

    DeDe vintageandflea.com

    • Brandy@midcenturymodernlove.com August 11, 2012 at 9:57 am #

      Hi DeDe,

      My guess is that it’s hiding wood floors. It doesn’t look like vintage carpet. A lot of the houses around here have hidden treasure under the carpet. And the price isn’t bad, for here. We live on Mercer Island, outside of Seattle!

      Brandy

  6. Aimee August 11, 2012 at 8:32 am #

    Gorgeous! I want that hobby! FYI- I have 3 of those large Ball Pendants dating back to the 50’s. You can make me an offer & they’re all yours! 😉

Leave a Reply

