Crestview Door

2 Aug

I can’t help it.  I am SO excited about this.  For ages, I have wanted a Crestview Door kit.  Lusted is probably more accurate than wanted.  I see them online and on houses I admire around the Island.  And now, I am going to have one.  It’s going to be mine…all mine.  (And yes, that probably sounded as maniacal in your head as it did in mine.)  And while I have a juvenile tendency to loathe anything from my home state of Texas, I have to say, Crestview does it right.

Inspired by the entry way of the house like ours currently for sale on Mercer Island, I like the bold color and the solid door.  Our current door has a lot of glass and is probably not the best option for a home with two protective and anxiety-ridden dogs.

Ours:

Okay, so there is a lot more to do to get our front as polished as that one.  But we are starting with a new door.  A Crestview Door, as mentioned above.  For six months now, I have been agonizing over the choices because, well frankly, I want them all.  Plus, look how awesomely modern they are!  Crestview also has these very cool interior screens and fancy paneling.  I went back and forth between vertical and horizontal as well as number of panes.

So in DIY fashion, we bought a Doorlite Kit instead of a whole door.  We chose the Parkway (below) which I think will be beautiful in this entryway.

The kit was $59 and it comes with The “Parkway” Doorlite Kit comes with:
– One 4″ x 48″ single-pane clear tempered safety glass window
– Sustainable, kiln-dried hardwood frames
– Single-use silicone sealant
– Screws (and wood dowels to cover the screws)
– Detailed installation and layout instructions (which are apparently easy enough for anyone to understand and follow.  Except me.)

It also comes with a metal door marker that you can have personalized (which of course I did!) for $25.  Yes, I know this is ridiculous, but it marks the home in a nice way I think.  Ours will say ‘The O’Brightmans’.

The next question of course is what color to paint it. I’ve already decided on that.  Can you guess?  I can’t wait!

Other images of the Parkway….

 

Thanks to Dana at Mid2Mod for pointing out the Crestview Door-O-Vision feature.  You can upload a digital photo of your door and apply a Crestview door to it to see how it looks!  This is how ours will look.  (And yes, I’ve given away the color with this.  I am a sucker for orange!)

Door

16 Responses to “Crestview Door”

  1. Sean Bagley August 23, 2012 at 11:58 am #

    The door is stunning– love the color too. Your house now pops! Ever think of painting the used brick the same color as the body of the house?

    • Brandy@midcenturymodernlove.com August 26, 2012 at 8:35 am #

      Hi Sean,
      You are the devil himself tempting me with that question! Just kidding! But I am sure you know the debate about painting brick. I personally have no religion about it and have thought of painting that wall often. I don’t particularly like that style of ‘Chicago’ brick. The only issue is that wall extends into the house and becomes a massive fireplace on the other side. I don’t know yet if I want to live with that much dark brown in the house, you know?
      B

      • Sean Bagley August 27, 2012 at 7:23 am #

        Hi Brandy! You know, I didn’t realize until after I posted that comment that the wall was designed to be an element that carried the outside-in and visa-versa. That said, I would probably do it anyway, just on the outside, because it’s not as though it’s a wall that’s intersecting with a vast run of plate glass. Also, maybe I would try staining it with concrete stain before painting it– that way iw would still have some variations of color and it might be something you might like on the inside too. Believe me– it’s a dilema. I have beautiful used brick on a split level my parents built in 1972 and Ai want to paint it so badly but I think my Dad would have a fit!!!

  2. chatalee August 6, 2012 at 11:31 am #

    Your new door harmonizes the house and makes for such an elegant positive entrance. But mostly I’m just shocked and tantalized by how cost effective you got it going DIY. Brilliant.

  3. Kyle August 2, 2012 at 1:35 pm #

    OMG, I feel a door in my near future! Thanks for the info, I can’t wait!

  4. Kate August 2, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

    I totally knew you would pick orange!

  5. Rebecca @ beautifulsquarefeet August 2, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

    It’s going to look great – very smart!

  6. janis - pinecone camp August 2, 2012 at 8:57 am #

    I love these doors! I hadn’t heard of Crestview before. Now I feel a new door coming soon 😉

  7. Belinda James Thomollari August 2, 2012 at 7:39 am #

    Love the door!! Soo excited for you guys and can’t wait to see it installed :))) Living the MCM dream through you guys!! :))

  8. Dana@Mid2Mod August 2, 2012 at 7:39 am #

    I love Crestview products. Did you use their Door-O-Vision to choose your style and color? (I’ve decided on Mocha, but I’m still torn between the Throckmorton and the Langston.) I’m going out on a limb here and guessing that you’re getting Pumpkin. Congrats on getting the door. I can’t wait to see it when it’s done!

    • Brandy@midcenturymodernlove.com August 2, 2012 at 7:48 am #

      I hadn’t used the Door-O-Vision! I just did and posted the photo. And pumpkin…of course! You know me too well already! My vote for your house is the Langston!

Leave a Reply

