Gray and Yellow Bedroom

30 Jul

I have been on a quest for the perfect set of bedroom linens.  After much hand-wringing and disappointment at the oh-so-anticipated Orla Kiely bedding at Bed Bath and Beyond, I decided that gray was the way to go. I spend a lot of time in hotel rooms and I like the sleek and minimalist design that soothes and comforts.  Deeper tones with a minimal splash of color here and there.

At first I thought about a splash of orange.  Our bedroom is just to the left of the orange accent wall at the end of the hall and I wanted a transition that wasn’t too jarring.

But then I realized that would look weird with the piece of art that always hangs above my bed.  I’ve written about this piece before and it has become my #1 most popular post.  Everyday.  I am not sure why.  Maybe people just like the piece as much as I do.  Maybe the world’s search engines decided I am the expert on pop art.  Regardless, this has made me shift my color decision from orange to yellow.  This and the fact that pretty much every bedroom I pin on my Pinterest board is gray and yellow.

And my urgent need to make decisions about my bedroom come from the fact that I finally found the perfect gray linens.  At West Elm.  Of course.  I always end up loving their linens.  I just needed to wait around until they had the ones I wanted.  They are a perfect summer combination of linen and cotton.  Plus, I got them for 20% off.  What’s not to like?  (Okay, what’s not to like is that I can’t ever leave West Elm with only what I came for.  I also ended up with some lovely vases and a planter.  On sale too.  Does that help?)

I just propped the painting on the headboard for now.  The photo below gives you a sense of the vision.  Minus the wallpaper and the lighting above the bed.  And the green curtains.  And the mirror and other art stacked against the wall.  Yeah, you can imagine it if you squint.  I also think we need much larger lamps.  Eventually.

The bedroom is very long.  Long enough that the other end is almost totally empty.  And also long enough that window coverings are a challenge.  Neither Brett nor I appreciate waking up with the sun at 4:30 in the morning and I think our moods might improve significantly if we had better drapes.  

But when I say long, I mean LOOONNNNGGGG.  The stretch of windows to the left of our bed are 155″ in length.  The stretch on the other side of the room is 108″ long.  Yikes.  I really like the look of ceiling to floor drapes, but they usually come in a standard 48″ width, which means that someone with a sewing machine who loves me would need to sew together some panels to make them fit all the way across.  Hmmmm.  I wonder who that could be.  (Actually, I really should probably learn how to sew myself.  Maybe that person can teach me.  You know who you are.  Cough…Ida….cough.)

I love these panels from West Elm too.  I think this is the wee bit of pattern that I want.  They even feature them with a yellow chair!

Pinned Image

I also have visions of a writing desk at the other end with a lovely yellow Eames chair.  Except they don’t make them in yellow anymore.  I have seen vintage ones on Ebay that are a fortune.  I guess I will just keep looking.

And so long as we are at it, I am considering these colors.  We all know I am gray challenged when it comes to paint.  I want something a little more on the warm putty-ish side than the cooler purple I always end up with.  I found this set of paints on Pinterest and I really like the Rockport Gray by Benjamin Moore.  But please…if this looks TOO purple, someone stop me.

Pinned Image

Of course, now to start all this, we must first remove the wallpaper.  The extreme amount of wallpaper, which you know is not our favorite things.  Sigh.   We’ll get it done.  Someday.

16 Responses to “Gray and Yellow Bedroom”

  1. Ida August 6, 2012 at 11:52 am #

    Love the look. I am at your disposal.

  2. Katie Brower August 4, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

    I love yellow and gray together. My kitchen is soon going to be gray, blue, and yellow. I find the yellow fiberglass chair you are looking for. We found a pair of them in that exact yellow for $35! Even though they aren’t Eames, I still love them like they are. 🙂

  3. agingersnaps July 30, 2012 at 9:20 pm #

    Love the mixture of taupe-y grays and yellow you’ve got going on for inspiration! We just recently purchased a 60s ranch and gave the whole house a a coat of Sherwin Williams Worldy Gray. It’s a wonderful beaut of gray with a nod to taupe and earthy tones. We will be adding other accent colors through out the house as we familiarize ourselves with the interior and what we want to achieve. Yellows and oranges will definitely be apart of the palette. But for now it provides a wonderful base neutral to help push our color journey onward!

  4. Stacey July 30, 2012 at 7:09 pm #

    I see your hunt for the perfect bed sheets has come to an end!! Congrats to you… gray is always a good choice. Looks wonderful, Brandy… especially with the yellow. Your bedroom is so gorgeous… all that beautiful wood is to die for! Good luck finding your yellow chair… it would really make the room.

  5. Deanne July 30, 2012 at 2:55 pm #

    We used BM Eagle Rock for our LR grey. No blue or purple! Love the curtains, too!

  6. Alex @ northofseven July 30, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

    Whyyyyyy don’t we have West Elm here in Canadaland yet? Le sigh. I need a new duvet cover to replace my old grey one and the only place that has it is again. Ikea. Love the ones you chose

  7. Dana@Mid2Mod July 30, 2012 at 11:40 am #

    I think I’d take one of the shams to the paint store and have the color analyzed with the handy-dandy computer thingy they use to customize paints. Then you could go as light or dark as you wanted and be sure you weren’t going to come out with a gray that was too brown or too blue for your linens (which I love, by the way).

    I think the curtains you like are perfect, and sewing them together really wouldn’t take any time at all, even for someone who’s just learned to sew…I promise.

    I’ll keep my eyes peeled for a yellow fiberglass chair.

    • Brandy@midcenturymodernlove.com July 30, 2012 at 12:56 pm #

      Thanks for the confidence in my non-sewing skills! And yes, please be on the lookout for a yellow fiberglass chair. I think it would be just perfect!

  8. chatalee July 30, 2012 at 9:54 am #

    The bed sheets and cover are gorgeous. I never thought about gray being so elegant, calming and comforting.

  9. Tammy July 30, 2012 at 9:38 am #

    Hi Brandy — we just painted Perfect Greige by Sherwin Williams in our family room and kitchen and love it! Let me know if you want to come see it. Tammy

Leave a Reply

