Buy Me!

24 Jul

I am not in the business of selling houses.  However, I just have to share this one because I am passionate about it.  Here on Mercer Island is an almost exact replica of our house, minus one bedroom and the family room as well as the land.  Also designed by Fred Bassetti and Morse in 1961, it looks like it’s in really good shape and ready for some love.  The description reads:

A Memorable Experience…Meticulously Crafted and Designed Mid Century Masterpiece Created by Renowned Architects, Bassetti and Morse-Famous for Designing Many Seattle Landmarks. The Home Stays True to its Original Intent with an infusion of Tasteful Updates Throughout! This Extraordinary One Story Residence is Flooded with Natural Light from the Walls of Windows, Vaulted Ceilings and Numerous Skylights Throughout and Sits on a Tranquil, Lush and Fully Fenced ¼ Acre Corner Lot.

I really like what they did with the decking in the back and the almost original kitchen is lovely.  I love the entry way and the landscaping too.  I would take to back to its more original state by removing the mirrors, the granite countertops and the carpet.  I hope someone buys it and loves it as much as we love ours!  (Thanks Kathy for bringing this to my attention!)

 

19 Responses to “Buy Me!”

  1. Rebecca July 25, 2012 at 8:20 pm #

    It is hard for me to criticize the granite and the mirrors considering what I accidentally did to our mid-century before I became enlightened. Someday you will post our house and the readers will go “meh corian countertops”… ugh did you see those overly ornate wood windows. **sigh** I will put it all back someday.

  2. Alex @ northofseven July 24, 2012 at 5:57 pm #

    *fans self* oh that’s just stunning!

  3. Jason July 24, 2012 at 3:23 pm #

    Love the house and especially the front entrance! I’ve decided that I could easily move to that part of the world!

  4. Ruthy T. (@DiscoveryStreet) July 24, 2012 at 2:07 pm #

    wow! gorgeous…my husband and I just put an offer on a mid century modern home in tacoma…we had it inspected today…we’ll see how it goes!

  5. teakhound July 24, 2012 at 11:12 am #

    Wow. Picking my jaw off of the floor. That is a gorgeous house.

    Any idea what wood was used to panel the house? Guessing it’s either Fir or Oak, but it reminds me a lot of FLW’s Palmer House, which is panelled, floor to ceiling, in Cyprus.

    • Brandy@midcenturymodernlove.com July 24, 2012 at 11:38 am #

      Since it’s the same designer and builder of our house, I would assume it’s teak like ours. It’s definitely not oak or fir. The striations or lines or whatever they are called are all wrong. Plus, I hate oak and I love these!

  6. Roger J. Morris July 24, 2012 at 10:30 am #

    Those wood ceilings are fabulous! And original kitchen cabinets are making me drool…but that granite countertop needs to go. All those windows to bring in light…so necessary in the Seattle area! Might have to go check it out…

    • Brandy@midcenturymodernlove.com July 24, 2012 at 10:34 am #

      We have those too! I love them. They make the house so warm. I wish we still had original kitchen cabinets, but c’est la vie! We are waiting for an open house to go be nosy neighbors!

  7. Dana@Mid2Mod July 24, 2012 at 9:22 am #

    Beautiful house! I’m with you on the mirrors, carpet and granite, but everything else is fantastic. That deck is spectacular.

    Is it just me though, or does it always amaze you that people don’t style their houses more meticulously when they have them for sale? What’s up with the wonky bedspread and unmatched pillows in the last photo? LOL

  8. Stacey July 24, 2012 at 9:13 am #

    Oh my GAWD!!!! This is amazing. Those ceilings are to die for. Oh how I wish ours would have looked like that. I’m in love with these. I’m with you on the mirrors, meh… not so great. Mirrors seem like a good idea but they’re NOT! HA!
    The outdoor space is equally breathtaking. I’d be living out there, for sure. Great little peek… someone will be really lucky to get this baby. (sigh)

  9. Rex July 24, 2012 at 8:55 am #

    Great home! I’m thinking the deck is the best part of this house!

  10. Judd + Jessa July 24, 2012 at 8:35 am #

    Smitten!! What a beautiful design!! We love your blog! xox

    Judd + Jessa

Leave a Reply

