Bertoia-Inspired Seating

20 Jul

(Via Remodelista)

A modern take on the classic Bertoia side chair (dare I say it? I might prefer it).Designed by Los Angeles-based, Detroit-raised Gaurav Nanda, a former car designer, the Bend wire chairs are made from iron that is spot welded together (a technique Nanda refers to as bending). The result of the closely bent wires is a series of geometric patterns and a surprisingly comfortable seat. Each chair is pretreated to prevent rusting and then powder coated in Nanda’s LA studio; the chairs can be used both indoors and outdoors.

Above: The Bunny Lounge Chair is available in white (shown), peacock blue, black, and orange; $495 from A+R Store.

Farmhouse Lounge Chair

Above: The Farmhouse Lounge Chair with the backrest inspired by the structural design of old Amish barns. Shown here in peacock blue for $495 from A+R Store.

Drum Stool

Above: The Bunny Lounge Chair shown with the Drum, a table/stool/ottoman all in one. Shown in white and also available in orange and peacock blue from Bend for $425; add a white Round Cushion to top it off for $180.

8 Responses to “Bertoia-Inspired Seating”

  1. northofseven July 21, 2012 at 7:59 am #

    Love the chairs!
    PS – I’ve just nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award! You can choose to accept or decline but I wanted to let you know how great I think your blog is. Though I have a feeling you’ve already had this one given to you. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Dana@Mid2Mod July 20, 2012 at 11:25 pm #

    My son-in-law just showed me these chairs a few days ago and asked if I thought he should start carrying them in the store. I think they’re really adorable, and I love the colors they come in, but I was concerned that the price point might be a little high for some customers. What do you think? Will the average couple in their early thirties to early forties pay $2000 for a set of dining room chairs this casual?

  3. teakhound July 20, 2012 at 8:56 am #

    As much as I love the original Bertoias, these are really fun! The appearance of the woven and bent iron is stunning.

    ~Cam @ teakhound.com

  4. Stacey July 20, 2012 at 8:55 am #

    I really like these, Brandy! The patterns he’s creating with the wire is really cool. The Bertoias are lovely to look at but unless you have a cushion they’re not all the comfortable in my opinion. They pinch at your skin and jam into your spine. Dang, that sounds like torture doesn’t it? A little dramatic maybe, but I’ve had two Bertoia chairs in my years and sold them both. Then I tried again with some bar stools and sent them back. It’s like I keep trying to love their comfort as much as their beauty but it just isn’t happening. The best (for me) is the upholstered diamond chair. It does Rock! I have a feeling these actually might be pretty comfortable. They certainly are pretty! Thanks for showing ’em.
    Have a great weekend!

    • Brandy@midcenturymodernlove.com July 20, 2012 at 9:06 am #

      I totally agree with you about the comfort level. I don’t like a diamond pattern on my bottom when I stand up. (No Shades of Grey references here, I swear!) I really need new barstools and was considering the Bertoia just because they are so cute. But now I am thinking Eames fiberglass. Whn I win the lottery, you knoe. You have a great weekend too!

Leave a Reply

