The Random Light

17 Jul

I’ve always loved these pendant lamps.  I saw them recently in the restaurant at the Hotel Valley Ho:

And I have a DIY version on my Pinterest board.

Pinned Image

What I didn’t know was that the original was called the Random Light and was designed by a Dutchman named Bertjan Pot.  (These run anywhere from $600-2400.  Try the DIY one!)  I ran across this video today with him talking about his process and the products.  My favorite by far is the slim table, which he calls ‘a lie’.  Brilliant.  Enjoy!

Watch the video on Vimeo – here. (Via Contemporist)

8 Responses to “The Random Light”

  1. Nice job :) January 7, 2013 at 3:52 am #

    What is the white and grey material

  2. PDustin July 17, 2012 at 6:54 pm #

    Positively trying this one! Haven’t watched the video yet as my connection is snails pace till someone can come fix it. Should be done tomorrow… So they say.
    Always loved these lights too. Also always wondered how to get the inflatable out once its done. Guess I will have to watch to see. 🙂 Thanks for posting this!!! And by the way,ever since I started following your blog,I’ve thoroughly enjoyed it. Keep up the great posting!

  3. Kathy Minnich Richardson July 17, 2012 at 3:27 pm #

    B – that is so cool. Did you make that one hanging?

  4. Stacey July 17, 2012 at 8:37 am #

    I’ve always loved that light and the DIY version makes it look pretty easy to make! I will resist this one.. FOR NOW! Ha!
    The video was great. Seeing designers at work is always interesting to me. They struggle and fail just like the rest of us… but they are always diligently working to create. I admire that so much. Thanks Brandy… I enjoyed this!

    • Brandy@midcenturymodernlove.com July 17, 2012 at 10:15 am #

      I don’t know that I can resist it! Good on you!

      • Stacey July 17, 2012 at 10:24 am #

        I’ll only resist temporarily… after my house is painted! HA HA!

Leave a Reply

