Etsy

5 Jul

I wish I could remember who I was talking to the other day when I mentioned that Maeve makes a lot of her own money with her own Etsy shop.  Whoever it was had never heard of Etsy.  How is that possible?  Then a reader contacted me and asked me if I had seen the infographic below.  Wow.  I mean, wow! 

I love supporting Etsy and I highly encourage you to as well!

5 Responses to “Etsy”

  1. Martin Adler July 13, 2012 at 5:12 am #

    This is fine if the item is small and light, but anything that gets into the dimensional shipping rate becomes a problem. Nice blog Great done…..

    • Brandy@midcenturymodernlove.com July 15, 2012 at 12:43 pm #

      Good points that I didn’t really think about. Never bought anything large from Etsy. Thanks for the comment!
      Brandy

  2. forrestposton July 5, 2012 at 11:56 am #

    The shortcoming of Etsy and some similar shops is that they require a fixed shipping rate when shipping within the US. This is fine if the item is small and light, but anything that gets into the dimensional shipping rate becomes a problem. For such an item, my cost to ship could vary from about $10 to over $30 depending on what part of the country it’s going to. When I pointed this out to Etsy, they suggested a very long, complicated work-around if someone in a higher shipping area wanted an item……and if someone simply bought the item without contacting me first, I’d be screwed on the shipping. This will become more of an issue as a wider variety of sellers try using Etsy.

    • Brandy@midcenturymodernlove.com July 5, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

      Interesting. I didn’t realize that and hadn’t had any issues with shipping costs. In fact, when I bought my vintage Pyrex, I thought the shipping was quite reasonable for something so fragile. Thanks for pointing this out!
      Brandy

      • forrestposton July 15, 2012 at 4:36 pm #

        You can adjust shipping to different countries, just not within a country. That only starts to matter in larger countries where the shipping can be so varied. It wouldn’t have mattered as much in the US a few years ago, but the US Postal Service made deals to use the Fed Ex and UPS planes and sold off their own planes. As a result, the USPS was forced to use shipping charges more in the style of those companies. The result was a cost increase from a small percentage on some items to about triple the previous cost on those that now must use “dimensional rates”.

        The service is no better, and the USPS is now in financial trouble. Before this, the USPS had been able to ship at a lower cost than the other companies. It almost certainly breaks certain laws against price-fixing and other issues but reflects how major corporations have been able to dominate political decisions in improper and harmful ways.

Leave a Reply

