Mad Girls

19 Jun

I am truly blessed.  Truly.  When I am crazy busy with work and traveling and have done absolutely nothing on the house, I have an amazing gaggle of girls who keep the mid-century love going.

On my way home from work today, I got a text from Maeve saying they had a ‘surprise’ for me.  Now, as many of you parents may know, a ‘surprise’ from one’s children can be a delight or a disaster.  Now that they are older, the delights outnumber the disasters.  (Though the disasters still happen, don’t get me wrong.)  I would be a liar if I said I had no trepidation about this.  I had a long and somewhat disappointing day and really didn’t relish the prospect of a cooking experiment that left me a crusty and floury and oily kitchen.  So as a typical parent I ask, ‘What is it?’ to which she cleverly responds, ‘Then it wouldn’t be a surprise.’

I walked in the door and everything seemed in place.  The kitchen was relatively clean.  No one was crying, though they were all in tons of make-up as they came to hug me.  In heels and her graduation dress with her hair in a bee-hive, Maeve motions me over to the computer to share their creations with me.

What can I say?  It’s moments like this, as my daughters stand around me giggling and I look at their work, that I know in my marrow why I became a parent. And I also know that these moments have an eventual end, and one coming sooner than I realize as I look at these gorgeous mad women almost all grown up, talented, intelligent, inventive.  Appreciation from one’s children is precious and rare.  These four ladies will run the world someday, I swear.

(Though as I write this, I listen to one asking the other…’Are you ticklish on your butt?’  Ahhh…parenthood.)

These also remind me of another post of photos with the word ‘Mad’ in it.  Biggest difference is that there was no alcohol in the photo shoot with the girls and I think PLENTY in the photos of my grandparents!

Maeve took these photographs and speaks to them with more detail on her blog.  Please check it out at Blue Paper Lanterns.

14 Responses to “Mad Girls”

  1. julie June 22, 2012 at 10:47 pm #

    I love your blog – have been following for a few months. we recently purchased a mid century modern home in northern california, and we’ve been busy fixing it up. I also have 3 daughters (3 teens) oy…AND we used to live in bellevue – just a stone’s throw from you. Love the photos of your girls – soak up these moments – it goes by so fast – TOO fast.

    • Brandy June 23, 2012 at 7:49 am #

      Hi Julie,
      Thanks so much for commenting. I am so envious that you are in a mid-century house in California. I love it there! Our girls are almost teenagers and I feel for you! My poor husband isn’t going to know what hit him. Would love for you to share photos of your work on your house.
      Brandy

  2. susie June 21, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

    Wow!!! I’m slowly reading emails that we missed while on our trip. The girls are absolutely beautiful! Maeve looks as if she is 20 at least. Ainsley has grown up sooooo much. Brett’s daughters are lovely, too. You and Brett are going to have your hands full holding off the guys!!!

    • Brandy June 21, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

      Aren’t they lovely? We are so lucky! And lucky there are no boys around…yet!

  3. Nancy Mingis June 20, 2012 at 12:40 am #

    Such lovely, delightful, and smart young women. Y’all are doing something right. Hope to see you later this summer.
    Nancy, next door

    • Brandy June 20, 2012 at 8:19 am #

      Thanks, Nancy! When are you back? Do you know when Tom will be back? we are having a little shindig this weekend and were wondering if our guests could park in your driveway?

  4. Dana@Mid2Mod June 19, 2012 at 3:06 pm #

    What wonderful photos! You’ll treasure those for the rest of your life. Your daughters are such beautiful and happy young women. I’m so glad you included a link to Maeve’s blog. I loved looking at her incredible art work.

    • Brandy June 19, 2012 at 3:32 pm #

      Her artwork is really amazing for a girl her age…or any age for that matter. Glad you enjoyed it!
      Brandy

  5. Abby Lee June 19, 2012 at 10:09 am #

    Wow! Wonderful, happy and impressive. Joyful. Thanks.

    • Brandy June 19, 2012 at 11:10 am #

      Very joyful indeed. I am so blessed in so many ways.

  6. twallisstone June 19, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    Awesome photos! You get a gold star!

    • Brandy June 19, 2012 at 11:09 am #

      Maeve gets the gold start!

  7. janis - pinecone camp June 19, 2012 at 8:02 am #

    You look like you’ve done a fabulous job with your lovely young women. How sweet.

    • Brandy June 19, 2012 at 10:52 am #

      Thank you! They really are lovely and I really am lucky.

      Brandy

Leave a Reply

