Putting It All Together

1 Jun

In the past week, I’ve shared a lot of recent estate sale or thrift store purchases.  The rug.  The lamps.  The end tables.  I intentionally didn’t show you their new homes because I wanted the effect of the whole reveal.  I also knew I needed to go buy some accessories that I wouldn’t want to buy in thrift stores, like pillows.  (I am kind of squeamish about thrift store fabrics, as I have mentioned.  Just think it’s harder to get the cooties out of there.)  So I made a trip to Tar-jay to see what they had to pull it all together.  I came home with two lampshades ($19.99 each), two turquoise vases ($25 each) and three pillows (on sale for $13.99 each).  I probably could have found the vases at a thrift store for way less, but they were right there and just jumped into my cart.  This seems to happen a lot at Target.

So other than the items above and Taylor the sofa, everything in the living room has been bought at an estate sale or thrift store.

Side chairs:  $90 for both (Okay, the upholstery was not cheap.)

Side table between the side chairs:  $19

Sofa end tables:  $20 each

Rug $50

Lamps:  $20 for the pair (plus $1.45 for the other)

Parvez Taj art piece:  FREE

And just to remind you what things used to look like when we first moved in:

To the middle stage:

To final:

From the other direction:

To now:

And, of course, gratuitous photos of Molly the Beagle…a Snoopy-inspired very mid-century breed.

I love the whole thing and am super proud of how we have gone about it, buying things that weren’t new and things that we really loved.  The room has a sense of history and authenticity and is probably, for me anyway, the most peaceful room in the house.  In fact, I am sitting on Taylor writing this post right now.  (I would like a coffee table but it works without one for now until the right thing comes along.)

I have one thing I am not sure about.  That’s the Parvez taj piece over the sofa.  I love this piece of art.  Love it.  Love it because I love Parvez Taj and love it because I won a $500 piece of art in a contest from Grassrootsmodern!  I would also love your thoughts and opinions on the piece and whether or not it works.  Just not 100% convinced.

25 Responses to “Putting It All Together”

  1. Deb June 22, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

    So happy to have found your blog! I was born in 1950 so I grew up with MCM, a little in my parents’ place and more in other, more cool parents’ places. I did a 50’s diner theme in my last house, complete with Formica, chrome-edged table, glitter vinyl banquette and neon sign. We moved into a new build 13 years ago and I couldn’t do that again, but to my delight, my son and daughter-in-law bought a MCM house 4 years ago! They’re in the process of re- doing and restoring some of what had been ruined and undone by the previous owners and are doing an amazing job. We’ve recently found Thrive and are making a trip to the showroom next month. I love seeing Taylor in your living room since they ordered it in a sectional along with 2 Monroe chairs, Polk ottoman and Nixon chair. What was your experience with Thrive like? I love their style choices, policies and that they’re local for us. It looks like you’ve got a great home and are on a roll with your decor! My suggestions would be to do as some of the others mentioned by moving the art piece down and to one side with 2 smaller pieces hung vertically, or get a larger, more colorful piece for there. Also, I would add a punch of orange, in accessories or pillows. I buy awesome pillows from an Etsy site called Atomic Livin’. She has both vintage and repro barkcloth and does a beautiful job. Pattern and color are so fun and with the MCM palette being so varied, almost anything goes! Best of luck, and I’ll be back again and again 🙂

    • Brandy June 22, 2012 at 2:54 pm #

      Hi Deb,
      Thanks so much for the lovely note. I am glad you are able to live vicariously through your son and daughter-in-law’s renovation. I hope you could maybe convince them to share some before and after photos with me and maybe I could feature them in ‘Other People’s Homes’. And thanks also for the reco on Atomic Livin’. I will check it out!
      Brandy

      • Deb June 22, 2012 at 2:59 pm #

        I am indeed living vicariously through them and their home, but it’s so much fun for all of us- until I can’t stop buying stuff! I will definitely ask them about sharing some photos. The transformation has been and will continue to be inspiring, for sure.

      • Brandy June 22, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

        Thanks! I look forward to seeing them!
        Brandy

  2. Melissa Arnold June 5, 2012 at 9:19 pm #

    I don’t think the art is too small as much as I think it is hung too high. MCM did not always hang art symmetrically so try it lower and over to the right some and then try not to add another piece of art on the left. Live with it for a while and see how you feel about it. Great room!

    • Brandy June 6, 2012 at 7:12 am #

      That’s a really good idea. I think we hang a lot of art too high in our house. Thanks!
      Brandy

  3. chatalee June 1, 2012 at 3:22 pm #

    Wow! You’ve created color, calmness, nice lines. Before and after is always so much fun. Thank you, it’s beautiful.

    • Brandy June 2, 2012 at 6:50 am #

      Hi Abby!
      Glad you like it. You need to come over and see it sometime soon.
      Brandy

  4. Modmissy June 1, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    Mid-C Mod is so cool and you have captured this in your living room. The art is great but would look even better to the side with 2 other pieces stacked on the other side.

    • Brandy June 1, 2012 at 9:04 pm #

      Thanks so much, Missy! Love the suggestion. Am going to try a handful of ideas and that is one. Stay tuned for how it turns out.
      Brandy

  5. Dana@Mid2Mod June 1, 2012 at 1:22 pm #

    Your home is coming together so beautifully. I love the latest changes to the living room. As others have said, you might be happier with something larger…or a grouping…over the sofa. One of my all-time favorite ideas came from the 2006 cover of Elle Decor. http://goo.gl/LqekN

    It’s a super easy DIY fix while you’re waiting to find something absolutely perfect. It allows for the use of a lot of color in a room (like the colors in the Orla Kiely print on the opposite wall), it’s relatively cheap if you get canvases on sale, and you can make it as large or as small as you want. I did a row of 3 in the extra bedroom I use as a playroom for my grandsons. I bet other readers have favorite DIY projects they can share too.

    • Brandy June 2, 2012 at 6:52 am #

      Oh wow, Dana. That is really super cool! Maeve just ordered some canvases that were relatively inexpensive. I just may do this!
      Thanks so much for the suggestion.
      Brandy

  6. Rebecca June 1, 2012 at 12:53 pm #

    I honestly like the picture and am a big fan of FREE (favorite price). It could be bigger for the space but works for now until you find something else. I am finding some great art at a home consignment shop down here that bought out a gallery recently. Posting uno momento.

    • Brandy June 2, 2012 at 6:52 am #

      Hi Rebecca,
      Dying to see your art piece!
      Brandy

  7. Deanne June 1, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

    I think it matches perfectly, but is too small. The idea of mounting it is brilliant! You could also move it to one side & add two smaller prints stacked vertically to lengthen the space.

    Your LR is my fav, also!

    • Brandy June 2, 2012 at 6:53 am #

      Hi Deanne,
      Thanks for the comment. I love the living room too! Makes me happy. Sometimes I just stand in the doorway and look at it.
      Brandy

  8. 900hp June 1, 2012 at 10:41 am #

    you could mount that piece of artwork to a larger board, preferably one stained the same color as some existing wood in the room.

    • Brandy June 1, 2012 at 10:46 am #

      That is a very cool and interesting idea. Thanks!

    • Brandy June 2, 2012 at 6:55 am #

      I like that idea. I’d have to figure out how to mount it. It’s actually a really heavy piece made from wood planks and it sits about three inches out from the wall. I don’t want to alter the piece at all. Wondering if I could just hang it on another piece of wood.
      Brandy

  9. shelly gainan June 1, 2012 at 8:56 am #

    Do you remember that large, wood wall clock Pape and Nanee had that looked a little like a star burst. I picture something like that over Taylor. How about the “clowns” that hung in the kitchen or the guys rooms? That part was a joke. I have to agree with Pirkko. The art is really nice but just a little two small for that area. I’ve said it before but I really want to say it again. You are truly amazing and I love everything that you’ve done and i’m so very proud of you! Love, Mom

    • Brandy June 1, 2012 at 10:47 am #

      I vomited a little in my mouth at the clowns, but the starburst clock (or even just a starburst) is a great idea.
      xoxo
      B

  10. Pirkko June 1, 2012 at 8:23 am #

    I truly enjoy your blog and look forward to every post. To answer your question, the piece of art is beautiful and works with everything that you have done, but is just too small for the space as the main focus. It would be great in a more intimate setting or as a supporting piece for a larger painting.

    • Brandy June 1, 2012 at 10:48 am #

      Thank you, Pirkko. I totally agree. I knew something bothered me about it and you’re right, that’s it.
      Brandy

  11. Soobee June 1, 2012 at 8:19 am #

    Love it! An amazing journey indeed. I randomly found your blog and have been following it! My family and I live in Singapore and am in the process of rebuilding our house. Love mid-century modern furniture and your blog inspires me as I start thinking about interior design!

    • Brandy June 1, 2012 at 10:48 am #

      I am so glad you are enjoying the blog. Please let me know if there are any subjects that you would like me to write posts on. I am always looking for new ideas! Good luck with your rebuild.
      Brandy

Leave a Reply

