Mersman End Tables

31 May

Remember the estate sale where we scored the super cool Drexel Heritage dining set?  Well, we scored something else I haven’t written about yet.

As we were leaving I did one more sweep through the house to see what may be left.  The sale was almost over and everything left was going to charity.  I had seen the end tables earlier but hadn’t paid much attention to them.  They were paired with a very traditional sofa and coffee table.  Once the sofa and table were gone and I saw them standing there all by their lonesome, I saw the mid-century style in them.

They were priced at $65 each, which was a little too much after just buying the dining set.  But I wanted them.  They were Mersman, which I didn’t know anything about.  And they were solid wood with veneer on the top.  Not my favorite thing but still cool looking.

And this guy knew he could get another sale out of me.  I am a sucker.  He offered them to me for $20 each.  Done!  I couldn’t get anything this cool or cheaper at Ikea.  Once I got them home, they looked even better than I imagined.  I love them.  Stay tuned tomorrow for all these finds come together.

3 Responses to “Mersman End Tables”

  1. primaveravalentine June 11, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

    Would you like to more!! I have these exact tables, Two of them and a matching coffee table. My aunt bought them new at some point in the late 60’s/early 70’s. I love them, but have been thinking of selling them. They have a vintage appeal, but I’ve had them for 15 years now myself. I might be ready for something different. I loved seeing their match on your blog!

    • Brandy June 13, 2012 at 12:52 pm #

      OMG! Would I be interested in them? Can you send photos? And how much do you want for them? Where do you live? How excited am I? (Will stop only writing in questions!) Thanks for getting in touch. Please let me know.

      Brandy

  2. janis - pinecone camp May 31, 2012 at 9:09 am #

    I love them…especially for $20 each! I’ve only hit up one estate sale before, and I can promise you, I found nothing like these or your dining set 😉 You’ve got a good eye!

Leave a Reply

