Let There Be Light

29 May

I have been on a thrifting frenzy lately.  I am starting to realize that the pickings get better as the weather improves.  I am not sure why.  I would assume that people have more time in the inclement weather to sort through their junk at home, but apparently not.

My latest finds were these lamps.  A few weeks ago, I spent some time out on the Olympic Peninsula at the Lake Crescent Lodge.  By myself.  No husband.  No kids.  Just me and beautiful surroundings and a good book.  (Fifty Shades of Grey, if you must know.  Don’t judge.)  I do this a few times a year to get my head together and decompress.  I find a need a lot of alone time, which is virtually impossible in my house.  Below is the photo of my vista.  Heaven.

Driving back, I saw a Goodwill in Port Angeles so I popped in.  Not much to see there except for this very cool mid-century wood and ceramic lamp.  No shade though.  $6.  I’ll take it.

As I am walking away, an employee stops me and says ‘Ma’am, wouldn’t you like to check and see if it works first?’  Ummmm…dumb me.  I’d love to.  He gets a light bulb and plugs it in.  Voila!

I went to check out and get this:  It was on sale.  Yes.  On sale.  As in discounted from $6 to….drum roll please…$1.45.  For reals.

Inspired by my find and by the fact that I told Brett I would be wandering around instead of coming straight home, I checked out a few of the junk antique stores in Port Angeles.  It’s nice to do this alone because I could browse at my leisure without a grumbling child or husband.  I didn’t see much that really interested me.  But the universe must have been telling me I need to ‘lighten up’ (Get it?  I crack myself up.) because lo and behold, two more mid-century lamp lovelies grabbed my attention.  Again, white ceramic with wooden neck and trim.  Gorgeous.  Not $1.45 each, unfortunately.  The pair for $20, which I thought was more than fair.

I apparently am incapable of learning my lesson because I didn’t ask to check and see if they worked.  When I got home, one did and one didn’t.  However, I remember reading somewhere that re-wiring a lamp isn’t rocket science and will do that soon.  (If anyone has any advice on that, it would be much appreciated!)  Regardless, they are all so similar that for now I will be putting mis-matched ones in the living room.  I picked up a few lamp shades from Target for $19.99 each.  They look wonderful with the new rug as it all comes together.  Keep reading for the whole picture soon!

12 Responses to “Let There Be Light”

  1. Rebecca May 29, 2012 at 6:58 pm #

    If this isn’t too goofy, I sort of felt that way (cotton candy) about the Hunger Games series. And lest you think too much of me, I feel the same way about the True Blood series (books and HBO series). And, I love your lamps. I was looking for something just like that and lack of antique/junk shops around here caused me to have to shop vintage new sadly. Your price was MUCH better and they are perfect. I covet that pair.

    • Brandy May 30, 2012 at 6:55 am #

      Hi Rebecca,
      Not too goofy at all! I think sometimes a little levity is needed, at least for me. I tend to read serious subjects that can depress me if I don’t mix it up a bit. And I know what you mean about vintage new. It happens. I am just learning to have patience these days. Keep searching!
      Brandy

  2. Jennifer May 29, 2012 at 7:55 am #

    I’ll show you how to rewire the lamp. Piece of cake 🙂

    • Brandy May 29, 2012 at 8:53 am #

      Yippee! Thank you! Maybe next weekend?

  3. Stacey@aGh May 29, 2012 at 7:39 am #

    Love the lamps, Brandy! You’re kickin’ it with the good finds, lately. I finished the book last night…. and lets just say I was sorta teary-eyed! Poor Christian… he’s just 50 shades of f’d up, isn’t he. Should I start the next? What do you think so far? Let me know if I should continue on! Again, love the lamps and they’re easy to rewire. Any hardware store usually sells the little replacement kits.

    • Jennifer May 29, 2012 at 7:56 am #

      Start the next one. I’ve read all three twice now

      • Stacey@aGh May 29, 2012 at 7:58 am #

        who’s Jennifer? HA HA HA! Is she in the next book.
        (laughing)

      • Stacey@aGh May 29, 2012 at 8:01 am #

        Sorry Jennifer… the comment replay came without me looking at the page and I got confused as to who was sending it. OOPS!
        Thanks so much for the recommendation. I think I’ll partake.

    • Brandy May 29, 2012 at 8:53 am #

      Agree with Jennifer. I just started the third book yesterday. Like I said, it’s cotton candy. And when you eat too much, you get a little nauseated, which is where I was with the third book yesterday. Here’s my thing: I would love to re-write these stories with a middle-class guy. The wealthy CEO is way over the top and getting to be a little unbelievable. How would it play out if he weren’t so rich, I wonder?
      Brandy

      • Stacey@aGh May 29, 2012 at 9:07 am #

        My apologies to Jennifer and the comment snafu. It’s Tuesday but feels like Monday! I was afraid you’d say that about the book. I’m thinking I’ll get into them and they’ll be so predictable and silly that I’ll be the one “rolling my eyes”! Yes, really… come on… the guy HAS to be a freakin’ millionaire… Love the middle-class idea. Maybe it wouldn’t be as cotton candy sweet though… no new cars and helicopter rides. HA! It was a fun distraction… I’ll have to think about the others. Thanks Brandy and Jennifer! Have a good one… and I’m wondering what great stuff you’ll find today. LUCKY!

      • Brandy May 29, 2012 at 9:10 am #

        I’d give the second one a try. It’s the third that has me rolling my eyes too. If only it got me somewhere. Sigh.

      • Stacey@aGh May 29, 2012 at 10:18 am #

        Well, I know where it would get you with our millionaire!
        Ha! I’ll try the second, thanks Brandy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

