Under Our Feet

28 May

You all know that I have been wanting a flokati rug for some time now.  It’s on my top 10 Mid-Century decor list.  It screams mid-century.

I just can’t pull the trigger on a $700 item that I still have some practical reservations about.  After all, it is a light color.  And it is shag.  I just get concerned that with four kids and two dogs it will end up looking like gray dreadlocks.  So the question of a rug for the living room has been rolling around in my head.  I just assumed the answer would eventually present itself.  And it did.  At the Mercer Island Thrift Store, of course.

Maeve and I popped in just to see what was new and we saw this light colored rug rolled up on a shelf.  $50.  Good deal.  A lot better than $700.  I touched it and it was 100% wool.  It’s machine made but with good yarn and in a contemporary pattern.  It wasn’t shag, but it was the right size and color.  I didn’t have much hope as we pulled it off the shelf to open it.  I knew that when we unrolled it there would be some ungodly red wine stain or dog stains or something.

Well, ye have little faith.  It was perfect.  Most likely cleaner than the rugs already in our home.  Plus, Baker likes it.  (Hopefully not as much as he liked this rug!)  Wait until you see how it all comes together.  More later!

4 Responses to “Under Our Feet”

  1. Dana@Mid2Mod May 28, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

    Holy moly…what a find! I love it. A couple of years ago I bought a fairly expensive wool shag rug, and it NEVER stopped shedding. I had hamster-sized wool balls in the corners constantly. I finally gave up and sold it on CL before it drove me completely crazy. Back in the 60s and 70s I had shag carpet (and rug rakes), and I don’t remember the shedding being that bad…but maybe I just noticed it more now on hardwood floors. No more shag for me…

    • Brandy May 28, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

      I know! It’s an awesome find. I love it! Thanks for the head’s up on the shag. We have enough hairballs around here with the dog!
      Brandy

  2. Barbro Rakos (@barbrorakos) May 28, 2012 at 10:10 am #

    …I’m rooting for you to go for that shag on day! Just admit it: you really need an OCD housewife to go with your MCM decor, anyway.

    • Brandy May 28, 2012 at 10:16 am #

      Ha! I really do need a wife. Life would be so much easier! Good to hear from you!
      Brandy

Leave a Reply

