Orla at Bed Bath and Beyond

26 May

It’s here.  Finally.  I have been waiting and waiting and practically stalking Bed Bath and Beyond in anticipation of the Orla Kiely bedding.  And like all things for which I pine and pine, it is honestly a let down.  I was actually able to walk away buying nothing.  And we know how hard that is for me when faced with all things Orla.

Don’t get me wrong.  The patterns are lovely…pure Orla goodness.  There are two sets:  the traditional stem pattern and what is called ‘Field of Flowers’.

Lovely, right?  I personally think the Field of Flowers would be perfect for a kid’s room, but I am sure it works for grown-ups too.

My issue is this:  I don’t like patterned comforters.  I like duvet covers for use with a down comforter.  I like them because I am commitment-phobic when it comes to bedding.  I need it to change often.  I need variety in my bed.  Or rather on my bed.  Ooops.  Plus, for some reason, I always end up thinking some comforters look cheap.  And for me, this stuff looked cheap.  I know it’s 100% cotton and I know that it’s 300 threadcount, but I don’t want a comforter with polyester fill.  The bedding at Heal’s was so much more attractive.

Maybe I am in the minority here.  It’s happens often.  And I will grant you that the price is right…twin set $149 to king at $199, includes comforter and shams.  But I can’t pull the trigger.  I couldn’t even pull the trigger on the throw pillows.

So now I am back at square one for the bedroom.  I usually plan the room around the textiles and I got nothing.  Nada.  Zilch.  I think I am back to gray and now wondering where to find that perfect gray bedding.  On the hunt again.  Suggestions, anyone?

Is it possible I am over Orla?

4 Responses to “Orla at Bed Bath and Beyond”

  1. Michele July 28, 2012 at 2:52 am #

    I got a lovely coverlet and two euro shams in grey from Ikea for $60-70. Perfect weight and holding up well after several washes. I bought in king and it’s MUCH bigger than other more expensive ones I have purchased. It actually falls several inches below the mattress on the sides!

  2. Stacey@aGh May 26, 2012 at 7:27 pm #

    I seem to stay at square one, Brandy. So we’re there together. I have such a hard time finding bedding… it’s like I want something that doesn’t exist. These patterns and colors look really nice but I too have experienced that “let down” when you get up close and touch them. All these pretty patterns look so fun and inviting in pictures but I always end up buying solids….. because I also need variety in the bedroom (LOL). I’ve been looking for months now…. and I’m afraid it’s going to be lots of gray for me too! Good luck with your search.

    • Brandy May 27, 2012 at 11:21 am #

      Glad to have people who understand. When I was writing that post,I was wondering if I was maybe just being a wee too precious about my linens, so happy I am not alone. Let me know if you find anything worth looking at!
      Brandy

Leave a Reply

