Pretty Pots

10 May

This one was easy peasy and totally stolen (via 2Modern) from an old Weekend Show and Tell post.  It started when I got it in my head that we needed some chairs for the side deck.  It’s in pretty rough shape and in desperate need of paint, so I wanted to cheer things up a bit with these green and orange plastic adirondack chairs I saw at Home Depot for $17 each.  I figure we will eventually invest in nice outdoor furniture, but for now something inexpensive and cute is required for me to be happy sitting outside in the sun with my books.  (Brett also removed the railing around the deck this weekend, opening everything up and making a huge difference!)

But alone they would be so sad.  They needed some cheerful pots and flowers to surround them.  I remember this DIY pot post (wait, that sounded wrong) and decided that would be just the ticket.  I headed to Home Depot, bought the chairs and some terra cotta pots, some spray paint and plants.  Also, for the hell of it, I bought some side tables that didn’t match the chairs, but were only $9 each.  I noticed that the spray paint cans said it even bonds with plastic, so I decided to give it a try.

I taped the top part of the pots with frogtape and went to work.  It took about three coats to get the shade I wanted.

Then I started on the side tables.  I chose white for them.  I did the underside first and then flipped it over to do the top and legs.  These also took two coats.

 

The end result?  Voila!  A nice little corner for me, my books and maybe a glass of wine in the sun for little more than $50 and an hours worth of work.  Love spray paint.  It’s my new favorite thing.  Now wondering what else I can get after?

6 Responses to “Pretty Pots”

  1. chatalee May 15, 2012 at 11:30 am #

    Me too! The pots came out beautifully. What a fun project. I always knew the deck would be better without the railings. It’s a great sunny spot. Enjoy, and thanks so much for the updates. I’m inspired to finish my plantings. I got carried away buying flowers. Today I plant Gerberra daisies and red petunias.

    • Brandy May 15, 2012 at 11:39 am #

      It’s SO easy to get carried away with buying plants, isn’t it? I am sure your flowers are lovely!
      Brandy

      • chatalee May 15, 2012 at 11:43 am #

        I did get carried away.

      • Brandy May 15, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

        Getting carried away with plants is the best kind of getting carried away!

  2. twallisstone May 10, 2012 at 9:51 am #

    What a great idea! Our patio set needs some help! This might be the solution. Did you have to do anything special to the plastic furniture before you painted it? Or did I miss that part?
    Cheers,
    Trish on 29th

  3. shelly gainan May 10, 2012 at 7:21 am #

    You are amazing! That looks so good! Love the color of the chairs and the pots. Perfect! Love mom

Leave a Reply

