Shy of Perfect Giveaway

6 May

Jewelry.  Something I love as much as I love mid-century design.  And I love these pieces below by Sara Shaheen, owner of the Etsy store Shy of Perfect.  And not only do I like her style, I like her prices!  Holy cow.  Most of it has a very vintage vibe and I can totally imagine Joan or Megan wearing some of these.  About Sara from the lady herself:

I began making jewelry because I needed a new hobby that I could do once I had children.  Soon, I had so much jewelry that it only made sense to start selling some of it.  Jewelry gives me a sense of calm when the rest of my life seems dripping with chaos.  I try to specialize in simple, modern designs using silver and gold alternatives in order to keep my prices reasonable.

I love her honesty because we all know what it’s like to work, have kids and a life ‘dripping with chaos’.  Lovely choice of words.

So here’s how it works, friends.  Comment on the blog or on the MCML facebook page which piece is your favorite and you are entered to win $75 worth of jewelry of your choice from Shy of Perfect’s Etsy shop.  At those prices, you will have a practically full jewelry box.  Enter by May 12.  Winner will be announced on the blog May 13.  That’s right.  Mother’s Day.  A little bauble for you or your mom.

As if that weren’t enough, if you aren’t the lucky winner, Shy of Perfect is offering 15% off for MCML readers.  Use this code to get your discount, MODERNLOVE15 for 15% off a total purchase, which makes these lovely pieces practically free.

And because she’s awesome, go ‘LIKE’ her Facebook page or follow her on Twitter.

My favorites are below.  What are yours?  Enter now to win them!

Little Tubes of Happiness $14

Little tubes of happiness in matte silver plate - Pick your color - red, green, gold, or brown

Czech glass “Waterfall of Bells” earrings with matte silver chain $10

Czech glass "Waterfall of Bells" earrings with matte silver chain (turquoise/teal)

Olive green multifaceted Swarovski briolettes capped with silver vine bails on sterling earwires $12.50

Fabric button necklace in mauve, magenta, pink, blue, navy, chartruese and teal with Czech glass accents $10

Fabric button necklace in mauve, magenta, pink, blue, navy, chartruese and teal with Czech glass accents

40 Responses to “Shy of Perfect Giveaway”

  1. Joni DeVilbiss May 11, 2012 at 5:02 am #

    Wow! You are really talented. Love your work. I especially love those Olive green multifaceted Swarovski briolettes. My Mother would love the Waterfall of Bells. I even like the necklace and I rarely wear necklaces, but I think I’d wear this one.

    • Brandy May 11, 2012 at 9:15 am #

      She is very talented indeed! You’re entered! Good luck!

      Brandy

  2. Cyndy May 9, 2012 at 7:32 pm #

    Love the contest and the olive earrings!!

    • Brandy May 10, 2012 at 7:07 am #

      They seem to be a favorite! You’re entered!

  3. jkcrewell May 9, 2012 at 4:41 pm #

    the button necklace is adorable! I want it1

    • Brandy May 9, 2012 at 4:52 pm #

      I love that one! It’s so imaginative!
      Brandy

  4. sangeetha May 9, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

    Love the swarowski crystal earrings

    • Brandy May 9, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

      Beautiful! You’re entered!
      Brandy

  5. Margot DeVilliers Santiago May 9, 2012 at 11:07 am #

    Little tubes of Happiness are sooo cute!

    • Brandy May 9, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

      I love them too! You’re entered!
      Brandy

  6. Margot DeVilliers Santiago May 9, 2012 at 11:06 am #

    Soo cute, I love the Jewelry!! Thanks!

  7. Stacie May 9, 2012 at 10:03 am #

    I love the Waterfall of Bells! Those earring are so cute!!!!

    • Brandy May 9, 2012 at 10:25 am #

      Super cute! You’re entered. Good luck!
      Brandy

  8. Cherisse C. May 9, 2012 at 9:50 am #

    All of your things are beautiful but one of my favorites are the ruby red briolette earrings! 🙂

    • Brandy May 9, 2012 at 10:00 am #

      You are entered! Good luck, Cherisse!
      Brandy

  9. Cathy May 9, 2012 at 9:27 am #

    I love it all. My favorite pieces are the ….Robins egg blue antique silver ring and the dainty peach sunflower neclace. I would love to give the neclace to my mom for Mothers day. Better late then never 🙂

    • Brandy May 9, 2012 at 9:59 am #

      Indeed! Any mom would love this jewelry I think! You’re entered!

      Brandy

  10. Meggen May 9, 2012 at 8:31 am #

    I’ve got my eye on a button necklace. I bought some bracelets from her shop a couple weeks ago and love them!

    • Brandy May 9, 2012 at 8:48 am #

      That one is my all-time favorite. Glad you like what you got before. You’re entered!

  11. Katie May 9, 2012 at 8:11 am #

    Hmm…definitely the olive green crystal earrings!

    • Brandy May 9, 2012 at 8:47 am #

      Love those too! You’re entered!
      Brandy

  12. Amanda May 9, 2012 at 7:58 am #

    I LOVE the Two by Two Peridot necklace and earrings on her site. what a fun giveaway!!!

    • Brandy May 9, 2012 at 8:45 am #

      Glad you like it! You’re entered!
      Brandy

  13. Crystal May 9, 2012 at 7:42 am #

    I think the Mauve and beige czech glass and silver beaded stretchy bracelet is pretty..love the unique color!

    • Brandy May 9, 2012 at 8:45 am #

      It’s gorgeous. You’re entered!

      Brandy

  14. Whitney Dupuis Photography May 9, 2012 at 7:40 am #

    I love the Brilliant Ideas necklace! That is so clever! She is really talented!

    • Brandy May 9, 2012 at 8:45 am #

      I like that one too. We could all use brilliant ideas sometimes! You’re entered! Good luck!

  15. Goldie May 7, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

    Hmmm, so many choices… I think I like the teal dahlia dangle earings, but then again the Czech glass (in teal) are quite fetching as well…

    • Brandy May 8, 2012 at 9:08 am #

      I like those too. I used to really dislike teal, but now it’s growing on me again. You’re entered. Good luck!

  16. Deanne May 7, 2012 at 4:47 pm #

    Wow! So many beautiful things! I do like the various forms of tubes of happiness! They are clever! Thank you for “sharing!!”

    • Brandy May 8, 2012 at 9:07 am #

      I just even love the idea of tubes of happiness. You know, like something you want to wear on a rainy or blue day! You’re entered. Good luck!

      Brandy

  17. Crystal in Texas May 6, 2012 at 1:52 pm #

    The Waterfall of Bells earrings are amazing! Aren’t you nice?

    • Crystal in Texas May 6, 2012 at 1:54 pm #

      correct blog address below! 😎

    • Brandy May 7, 2012 at 8:06 am #

      You are entered! Good luck! And I’m not that nice. Sara is nice. She is the one who suggested the giveaway, though I wish I could take credit!

      Brandy

  18. Rebecca May 6, 2012 at 10:59 am #

    The green earrings, but of course.

    • Brandy May 7, 2012 at 8:06 am #

      But of course! Those would be my first choice too!

      Brandy

  19. Alexis May 6, 2012 at 10:50 am #

    I really love the white rose and antique ring. Also, the One by One hand strung champagne Czech glass beads on silver plated ear wire are beautiful. Thank you for offering such a nice giveaway!

    • Rebecca in Denver May 7, 2012 at 12:35 am #

      I have been reading your blog for a few months now. I really appreciate your down to earth attitude and frankness about your everyday MCM life. This jewelry is so beautiful, and completely reasonable! The only problem is making sure I don’t buy everything now, just in case I win the $75 in free! 😉

      • Brandy May 7, 2012 at 8:03 am #

        Hi Rebecca,

        Thanks! I am glad you are enjoying the blog. It’s just as much fun for me to write. Good luck on the contest!

        Brandy

    • Brandy May 7, 2012 at 8:07 am #

      Hi Alexis,
      Those are gorgeous as well. You are entered. Good luck!
      Brandy

Leave a Reply

