Study Time Part 2

23 Apr

Remember when I found this desk at the Mercer Island Thrift Store way back in February?  It’s kind of a funny story actually.  I saw it on the sidewalk and it had a ‘Hold’ tag on it and no price.  I asked the manager how much it was ($60) and how long he was holding it for and if the person didn’t pick it up, could I have it?  He called while I stood there with fingers crossed and fortunately for me, she passed on it.  It turns out later the person holding it was my friend Kathy, mentioned with envy in this post.  I think between the two of us, we will collect every piece of available thrift store mid-century furniture on Mercer Island.

It sat around waiting for some love, like most of the projects around here.  And once I started, it still sat around for a while in between steps.  (More on the natural consequences of this behavior in tomorrow’s post.  I am apparently really not into this whole completion thing and sometimes that bites me on the you-know-what.)

I put it out on the side porch at the beginning of March to get started.  I cleaned it, removed the hardware and then sanded all the flat surfaces down with my handy dandy sander.  The round legs were difficult though, so I used the Rustoleum Deglosser liquid sander from the kitchen cabinet project from hell.

I began painting using the Benjamin Moore Bittersweet Chocolate paint that we used on the trim and on the other awesome thrift store funiture project which became our media center in the family room.  This paint always looks kind of purple when it’s wet, which of course freaks me out since I have a problem not picking purplish paint colors.

And yes, I am going to do the cruelest thing possible.  We call this a blog cliff-hanger.  Tomorrow’s post will show the finished product!  It’s worth the wait.  After all, it took me six weeks to finish., you can wait one day.  You know you can.

3 Responses to “Study Time Part 2”

  1. Dana@Mid2Mod April 23, 2012 at 7:27 pm #

    Eager to see the finished desk too.

  2. Stacey@agoodehouse April 23, 2012 at 9:25 am #

    Ahhhh, a woman’s work is never done! Looks like we’ve been up to the same thing. Good job, Brandy… looking forward to the big reveal. (how cruel to make us wait) HA!

    • Brandy April 23, 2012 at 9:32 am #

      Ahhh…but the anticipation is often sweeter than the satisfaction, no?

Leave a Reply

