Weekend Show and Tell

22 Apr

I can never resist good graphic design and I am loving these from Artsy Designy.  There is something about art on canvas versus a print that seems warm to me.  Reasonably priced and very unique.  The first set reminds me of vinyl 45s.

2x2 Circles No1 - Abstract Contemporary Art - Acrylic Painting on Stretched Canvas - 12" x 12"

2x2 Circles No2 - Abstract Contemporary Art - Acrylic Painting on Stretched Canvas - 12" x 12"

$49 stretched canvas 2’x2′

Abstract Modern Art Digital Print - Contemporary Art

Abstract Modern Art Digital Print - Contemporary Art

$19 digital prints 8″x10″

So I’ve had Ikea on the brain lately since I posted about the Uppleva.  I have mixed emotions about the brand.  I like the design and frankly for a family, the quality is decent.  But we have had to hack (and enjoyed other people’s hacks) to get things exactly as we want them, like we did with Karl’s legs here.  Clearly plenty of people want to modify Ikea legs and Stockholm-based Pretty Pegs helps you do just that.  The legs easily screw into the bases of Ikea pieces and come in a variety of shapes and colors. “Our vision is to create a new way of presenting rooms by adding color and personality to furniture,” they say. “And just like your favorite pair of shoes, they complete the look.”

Now I will say that our industry and paint saved us a pretty penny because these don’t come cheap (or apparently in dollars!).  But they are beautiful and unique and made me think that legs in interesting colors would be a cool thing to try sometime.  (Via Remodelista.)

I particularly like the Estelle in teak and brass…very mid-century modern.

Colorful Prettypegs\

Colorful Prettypegs

Above L: Siri in pink; €89. Above R: Evy in grey; €105. All legs are available in several color combinations and come in a pack of four.

Colorful Prettypegs

Above: Estelle in teak and brass toe; €130.

And in the category of ‘I am not entirely sure what I think of these…’ are these Keramose cabinets made from glazed ceramic and wood by Adriano Design and La Castellamonte (Coprodotto).  They kind of look like they belong in a child’s play kitchen but I really appreciate the incredible craftsmanship that had to go into making these.  What do you think of them?  (Via Contemporist.)

keramos_200412_10

keramos_200412_11

Reminiscent of the George Nelson wall units, Scout Regalia, a Los Angeles-based design practice founded by Benjamin Luddy and Makoto Mizutani created these bookcases to “celebrate the inherent design of everyday living by embracing both the unassuming and ornamental aspects of design.” We all know my obsession with bookcases and I find these to be gorgeous, though pricey.  Prices start at $3,000.  But then getting a Nelson isn’t much cheaper.  Made of domestic hardwood and handcrafted in Los Angeles, the bookcase is handsome, flexible, and portable.  (Via Remodelista.)

SR Bookcase

SR Bookcase

And finally, an easy DIY for the weekend and your spring flowers from The Proper Pinwheel: spray painted neon pots.  The pots are $1.99 from Ikea. (Yes, Ikea again.)  I will probably do orange and green and turquoise for mine instead of neon, but I love the idea.  And that it’s easy.

4 Responses to “Weekend Show and Tell”

  1. Robert April 24, 2012 at 8:45 pm #

    It was pretty awesome to open one of my favorite blogs and see my art. Much appreciation.

    Robert (ArtsyDesigny)

    • Brandy April 25, 2012 at 6:59 am #

      Those pieces are magnificent and I was happy to feature them!

      Brandy

  2. Dana@Mid2Mod April 22, 2012 at 11:01 am #

    I love the colors in the Artsy Designy digital prints. The Estelle legs are my favorites, although I think some of the other, funkier shapes would look adorable in a child’s room. “Play kitchen” was my first thought too when I saw the ceramic and wood pieces, but the close ups of the details are very impressive. I love bookcases too, and those are gorgeous. (I just did a post yesterday on the Nelson unit we just got in the store.) I probably won’t be doing any neon pots either, but I can definitely see some orange ones in my future!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thanks for the mention Mid-Century Modern Love | | ArtsyDesignyArtsyDesigny - June 1, 2012

    […] Here is the mention. […]

Leave a Reply

