IKEA UPPLEVA

19 Apr

Ikea does creative problem solving again.  I love how Europeans make do with so much less space than we Americans and do it with sleek style.  What do we think of this TV solution?  I love the way this video identifies the annoying decor issues around the most annoying electronic appliance in the house.  I know there is a lot of controversy about Ikea in the design world and I have great admiration for the people who produce those wonderful Ikea hacks.  Wonder how one might hack this?  What do you think?

15 Responses to “IKEA UPPLEVA”

  1. ParadigmGallery (@ParadigmGallery) April 25, 2012 at 8:02 am #

    This is a really interesting idea and I would probably buy it as an all in one problem solver, however I did not see the cost, which perhaps would give me pause. Matthew offered a valid dose of reality, but often I make decisions based on simplifying challenges like this and one stop shopping is always appealing. I think the aesthetic is pretty clean looking, but need to see it up close and check out workability.
    By the way, we haven’t finished our IKEA kitchen in Iowa yet, but the quality looks pretty good and it’s alota look,,,we shall see

    • Brandy April 26, 2012 at 7:48 am #

      I agree. Simplification is everything. Can’t wait to see the kitchen. Send photos!

      Brandy

  2. Robert April 21, 2012 at 8:46 am #

    This is awesome. Reminds me of my grandma’s all in one console from the 70s.

    • Brandy April 21, 2012 at 9:05 am #

      Very cool, right? Just looked at your blog. Lovely stuff.

      Brandy

  3. artinpublicplaces April 20, 2012 at 5:33 am #

    I love IKEA, and am seriously thinking of taking up Swedish citizenship : ) One of my favorite places is the local IKEA ‘as is” section, where you can scrounge for deals, from returned items where the packaging has been opened or there is some minor cosmetic defect. Imagine, an IKEA yard-sale every day!

    • Brandy April 20, 2012 at 6:57 am #

      That area is super cool, you are right! All you need is some imagination and you can have a great Ikea hack!

      Brandy

  4. Nancy Mingis April 19, 2012 at 11:15 pm #

    Hi Brandy, It’s reminiscent of what we did have back in the ’50s – electronics in a wooden cabinet with one electrical plug in the wall and perhaps rabbit ears or some television wire connected to an antenna on the roof. Our “Hi-Fi” was much the same. It was fairly primitive and we didn’t have the world at our fingertips, but definitely MCM. If you didn’t see the black/white movie before the midnight sign-off, well you might get another chance sometime. And the few homes with televisions were so avant-garde! Remembering those ‘good ole days’ … Nancy M.

    • Brandy April 20, 2012 at 6:56 am #

      What a great comparison! You are so right. We had a huge built-in console with TV and hi-fi and speakers. It was very cool. I am going to see if I can find a photo and update this post with it. Thanks!

      Brandy

  5. rrrgonzalez April 19, 2012 at 8:54 pm #

    Super clever. You have to give them credit.

    • Brandy April 20, 2012 at 6:55 am #

      You really do! I love the idea.

      Brandy

  6. Matthew Savard April 19, 2012 at 11:34 am #

    i think it rather overshoots the stated goal of managing/hiding the cables. there are lots of ways to do that for under $10 (many of them are on lifehacker.com).

    additionally, i personally like having a component a/v system so that i can replace just one thing when it breaks… because it will (but also so i can choose each individual component based on my needs and its merits).

    so i am just not the target customer for this idea.

    the coolest idea i’ve seen for placing an HDTV is on a high-quality artist’s easel, with the cables hidden behind one of the legs within a wire loom. to further the concept, many of these tv’s can display a slide show from a USB stick drive when you’re not watching anything (for when you have guests or something). i want to say i saw this idea on apt therapy or maybe unclutterer.

    • Brandy April 19, 2012 at 11:37 am #

      I think you’re right. You aren’t the target. I think that I and other women who feel totally intimidated by the whole electronics and cable management thing will be the buyers/influencers on this one. Love the easel idea. That is very cool. I am going to hunt for that.

      B

  7. Dana@Mid2Mod April 19, 2012 at 9:10 am #

    I think I want one! I generally think of Ikea furniture as the perfect disposable furniture for young couples who live in apartments or who have young children and don’t want to invest in expensive items for their homes till the kids are a little older and gentler on things…but this piece really appeals to me.

    • Brandy April 19, 2012 at 9:27 am #

      Hi Dana,
      Yeah, I go back and forth on Ikea stuff. The thing is that I really like the style of some of it. And yes, our kids (and dogs) are SUPER hard on furniture. I tend to put the nicer stuff in the living room and fill the family room with things that are much less precious.
      Brandy

      • Dana@Mid2Mod April 20, 2012 at 9:53 pm #

        My son-in-law owns a mid-century store and has gorgeous pieces…but he and my daughter have Ikea, Crate and Barrel and Craigslist furniture for now. They have two boys…aged 1 and 2…and they’re not about to bring home furniture from the store for the boys to get sticky fingers on…LOL I agree that Ikea has some fantastic looking pieces, and the best thing is that you can breathe easy and let your family use them.

Leave a Reply

