Visual Philosophy Print Giveaway

29 Feb

Yes, you heard right.  Another giveaway.  Get ready to elbow, trip or knock down your fellow MCML readers to get your hands on this one.  In the post on Mid-Century Modern Art, I mentioned Visual Philosophy and how much I love their MCM-inspired prints. 

Mid century poster print, 24 FUNKY BIRDS, artists giclée print, A3 (11 x 17 in) scandinavian style

Mid century poster print , CATHRINEHOLM KITCHEN, A3 (11 x 17 in)  giclee print

Mid-century retro poster print, WAVE, 11 x 17 (A3) artists giclée print, retro style

Well, they loved the mention so much, they want to share one of these awesome pieces with one of you awesome people.  (There is just so much awesomeness around I can’t stand it!)

In their own words:

Visual Philosophy creates beautiful poster prints that are inspired by mid-century, modernist and Scandinavian design, shape, colour, typography… in fact anything that our magpie-like curiosity thinks would make an inspiring piece of art for an empty frame!  Run by Liz Lyons and her husband Grant…Liz is a graphic designer from the UK, Grant is American. They got married (so she could get a Green card) a long while back, and two kids, one dog, two businesses and a big transatlantic move later, are still together!

We run a design agency during the day, and while we love our clients and the great projects they ask us to work on, it’s nice having the opportunity to be creative without a brief!

Our designs are all ones we’d happily hang on our own walls, (but we’re running out of room!). We’re also really happy to customize any of the designs you’ll see, so if you have a particular idea/colour scheme/wording you’d like to see just let us know what your visual philosophy is and we’ll be happy to accommodate!

(I’m sorry, but how can you not love a company that describes its curiosity as ‘magpie-like’?  Swoons.)

Wow.  So that means they take requests too!  Kind of like your favorite FM station, right?  How lucky can you get?  Luckier, I tell you.  Because you can WIN one!  Here’s the dealio:  Check out the awesome Visual Philosophy shop on Etsy.  Pick the one that most tickles your fancy and comment on THIS post (either here or on our MCML Facebook page) telling me which is your favorite.  (And seriously, if you haven’t liked our page on Facebook by now, what is keeping you, man?)  Winner will be drawn at random on March 3 and announced in the Weekend Show and Tell on the 4th.  Do it.  Now.

(And just checking…have you Poured One Out for your Homie?  Deadline is the 9th and I am reminding you homies everyday!)

(P.S. Who even knows what ‘pour one out for your homies’ means?  C’mon.)

 

37 Responses to “Visual Philosophy Print Giveaway”

  1. Alois March 8, 2012 at 4:02 am #

    Hello

    few facts – when those prints featuring Cathrineholm / Stig lindberg were made in 2011 there were no prints featuring those designs directly anywhere in the world.

    Then this shop becamed popular, being featured on lots of blogs etc, then of course some people start to copying this idea some with own style some like Visualphilosophy just totally copied style and idea of some prints.

    It is absolutely not true there were always lot of similar prints – there were not! – Eames yeas, scandinavian kitchenware – No. It was iconic but nobody had idea to do prints with those stuff – until Restyle shop did it.

    I really do not understand how anyone could say that the stacked bowls pritn is not just a copy of the original CH bowls print from 2011, this is not about 1:1 copy but it is clearly 100% stolen idea, she even have no invention to change the colors order. This shop is just another who googled into more succesful shop and tries to feed on their succes

  2. Andy March 7, 2012 at 1:19 pm #

    I like the bird one. And I’m not sure of Alois’s point… is it around true theft or around boundaries of creative latitude? Either way, not sure if the comments of your blog is the appropriate battlefield; Alois should probably take it up with the source.

  3. Alois March 7, 2012 at 12:38 pm #

    Hello Brandy,

    It is really sad that such a nice blog supports ideas stealing “artist” like this one – his cathrineholm prints are copy of this shops –

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/63396745/mid-century-poster-cathrineholm-poster

    they not even care to change order of the color on the bowls. As you can see the print from handz is there for a long time.

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/93013036/mid-century-poster-print-cathrineholm?ref=v1_other_1

    • Brandy March 7, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

      Interesting comment from Alois. I have mentioned Handz in previous posts as well, as I appreciate their prints too. We have no desire to do anything unfair. In the interest of openness and the spirit of debate, I am putting this comment up there to see what the rest of the readers think. Comments anyone?

      Alois, thanks for putting this comment out there.

      Brandy

    • Brittany Paris March 7, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

      I agree with Andy. If you are concerned, definitely confront the source. Beautiful prints, Brandy. 🙂

      • Brandy March 7, 2012 at 5:52 pm #

        Thanks! Agreed. I could have not posted the comment, but that would feel dishonest to me. Glad to spark some conversation.

        Brandy

    • Jamie Shehan {Mommy's Cigar} March 7, 2012 at 5:58 pm #

      I disagree that the prints are copies. Cathrineholm bowls are iconic. So is Elvis. Mustaches are popular right now. They are all over Etsy on everything. So are crocheted flowers. Many Eames chairs have been reproduced by different companies with slight differences.

      Looking at the prints right now there are obvious differences in the work of Visual Philosophy & Handz. The shading is completely different. I am not sure how they were created, with vector imaging or not but you can see they could not have been directly copied if you look at them side by side. Visual Philosophy has no shading on the bowls only a reflection underneath. Handz has shading on the side of the bowls and under but no reflection. One is more understated while still making a statement and one is more playful. I personally don’t like things that are too wordy on my wall so I would pick VP for it’s lack of wispiness (yes, wispiness) and the tones are deeper. I have, however, been eyeing this print from Handz for some time now http://www.etsy.com/listing/63991400/cathrineholm-poster-print-mid-century

      I know it’s a struggle being original in this community. I also have grown to know that originality is not always an idea as a whole but in the details that create that whole. For example, God (or someone/something) made men…but thankfully for me he made women too..it’s all in the details.

      I am grateful for options from all of these creative souls, so I can have what I want, the way I want, have my home feel the way it should for me with or without wispy wording if I choose. I also love knowing that someone is out there doing something they love to do and making things pretty.

  4. angie faulks March 3, 2012 at 6:21 am #

    I think the Catherine Holm Kitchen is precious!

  5. laurabell24 March 2, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

    I love love the Catherineholm bowls!!!

  6. colleenhoover March 2, 2012 at 9:24 pm #

    I choose the catherineholm bowles

  7. Goldie March 2, 2012 at 2:04 pm #

    Found you from the AT Homies… so glad I did. We are struggling to do “justice” to our 50’s ranch, but with two kids who has time (or energy) *huge sigh*.

    Love the prints. I’m torn between the Kitchen Coffee and the SAARINEN chairs… both would look fab in my dining area. 😉

  8. Cate March 2, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

    Loving Mies’s Pieces!!

  9. Tamara March 2, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

    I’m new here and already obsessed with your blog! So hard to choose just one, but my fave has to be the Stig Lindberg print!

  10. Kathy Z March 2, 2012 at 12:43 pm #

    Hard to choose but I would pick the Bob Marley, three little birds print. It is a song that I sing to my three little birds all the time. Other favorites are Toytown and Fantasia Geisha, they remind me of my favorite ride at Disney, It’s A Small World.
    Brandy it looks like the Homie nomination is really working as far getting lots more traffic to your site. You deserve it. Nice work.

  11. jacqui March 2, 2012 at 7:07 am #

    I love the Catherineholm kitchen print….would be perfect in my house. Thanks!

    • Brandy March 2, 2012 at 11:57 am #

      Wow…Based on all these comments I think Visual Philosophy is going to need to make more Catherineholm style prints! Best of luck in the contest.

      Brandy

  12. Pippa March 2, 2012 at 1:21 am #

    I love them all but the cathrine holm one is a favourite!

    • Brandy March 2, 2012 at 11:56 am #

      You’re entered Pippa! Good luck!
      Brandy

  13. cathy March 1, 2012 at 9:45 pm #

    I’m also new to your blog. Followed the link from the AT Homies page. This is great!
    As for Visual Philsophy, that’s a tough decision. Three Little Birds? Funky Birds? Or CatherineHolm Kitchen? Do I have to decide now or can I just enter??

    • Brandy March 2, 2012 at 11:56 am #

      No pressure. You name three favorites, so you are totally entered!
      Brandy

  14. Cara March 1, 2012 at 5:47 pm #

    OMGOMGOMG! Love! I’ve popped into MCML a few times and I’m really happy I came by today. I have seen the Catherine Holm posters before and loved them and wondered where they came from. Now I know!

    I love them both, but the CATHERINEHOLM BOWLS one makes my heart sing!

    • Brandy March 2, 2012 at 11:55 am #

      Catherineholm seems to be the favorite hands down! Good luck!
      Brandy

  15. Deanne March 1, 2012 at 5:14 pm #

    Just yesterday I finished reading all of the archives! I really enjoy your blog & watching your projects! Definitely related to the NOW NOW NOW!

    This was an easy question! I had two prints saved in my etsy cart! I really love one red bird and the Stig Lindberg vases. I’m just waiting to be sure red will be my accent color before deciding!

    Thanks so much!
    Deanne

    • Brandy March 2, 2012 at 11:55 am #

      You read ALL my archives? WOW! I am so flattered. And how funny you already had the prints in your cart! You are entered and now maybe you will win one!

      Brandy

      • Deanne March 2, 2012 at 6:34 pm #

        I am prone to obsession when researching projects! My poor husband! 🙂 Guess who will be prepping for paint tomorrow?

  16. Bekah M. March 1, 2012 at 9:10 am #

    I’m brand new to your blog and love it! I am a fan of (almost) all things Mid-Century.
    Its soo hard to choose, but I love the One Red Bird print or would I would ask them to customize a print using my last name.. Moon. 🙂

    • Brandy March 1, 2012 at 11:02 am #

      Glad you like that blog! Thanks! And you are entered. Good luck!
      Brandy

  17. WifeNot March 1, 2012 at 6:46 am #

    Well obviously I’m going to have to agree with Jamie….Catherineholms bowls are lovely.

    • Brandy March 1, 2012 at 7:21 am #

      Ahhh…you two are stacking the deck and good on you. Jamie and the WifeNOT are both now entered! Good luck.

      Brandy

  18. Nicole Sheahan March 1, 2012 at 6:02 am #

    I just found this blog- and glad I did! I do love the Cathrineholm kitchenware print. I can picture it in my kitchen! Or the one red bird print for my entry.

    • Brandy March 1, 2012 at 7:20 am #

      Hi Nicole and welcome! Glad you are enjoying the blog! You are now entered and good luck!

      Brandy

  19. Jamie Shehan {Mommy's Cigar} March 1, 2012 at 5:46 am #

    I opened about 5 different tabs comparing them side by side. I tried so hard to stray from my norm but Cathrineholm pulled me back in. It also may have to do with the fact that my future kitchen at my future home which we haven’t found yet has no predertermined decor, and that’s really sad. I loved so many of these but I choose the Cathrineholm Bowls.

    • Brandy March 1, 2012 at 7:16 am #

      I love that you are so analytical and diligent! I’m more of a ‘go with your gut’ kind of girl, which sucks because sometimes my gut is SO wrong. Good luck!
      Brandy

  20. Dana@Mid2Mod March 1, 2012 at 1:42 am #

    I’ve been lovin’ Mid-century MODERN LOVE, both here and on FB, for a while now…and thanks to you, I have something else to love. The minute I saw Visual Philosophy, I was hooked. It’s hard to choose a favorite, but I think the three birds with the Bob Marley lyrics would look great in my kitchen!

    • Brandy March 1, 2012 at 7:15 am #

      I love that one too! Thanks, Dana and good luck!

      Brandy

Leave a Reply

