Weekend Show and Tell

26 Feb

We all know how much I love easy DIY (because we all know just how lazy I actually am).  Easy or not, I love this DIY via A Merry Mishap…DIY painted porcelain.  Go get yourself a porcelain pen and pull out those plain white dishes and get to work.

I am on the search for the perfect duvet cover.  I know that I want some kind of gray.  I also know that despite the fact that I truly want a solid cover, it’s completely unrealistic given the multiple children and dogs that find their way onto and into our bed.  I really want my room to look simple and sleek like something in a W Hotel.  Alas, that’s not going to happen.  And given my propensity for extreme swings, the other option is vibrant and fun and mid-century-esque Marimekko, which we all know I love.  This gray and yellow cover from Crate and Barrel is on sale now and tempting me greatly.

 UnikkoYlwBdgPieniUnikShtS12

Via Pursuitist, a unique and gorgeous line of furniture from LAMP Living.  My favorite pieces are in the Hewitt Collection and feature a variety of gorgeous hardwoods with a bright lacquered interior. 

After yesterday’s post on MCM artwork, I saw these beautifully psychedelic prints from Rafa Jenn (via Design Milk).   Limited edition giclee prints under $100, his riff on Warhol’s Marilyn is divine…if unfortunately sold out.

Mandala Suite by Rafa Jenn

 

Rafa Jenn - "Dear Andy"
 
One of the great things about blogging is the community that surrounds you.  One of my favorite blogs right now is Mid2Mod.  The Mid2Mod store is in Dallas, Texas and has some of the best and most reasonable MCM furniture I have seen on-line.  Almost makes me wish I still lived in Texas.  I hope they get a shipping mechanism in place for the large goods (they currently will not ship them) because I really want some of their pieces (and am clearly too lazy to figure out shipping for myself.  Notice a theme here?).  Especially this six-foot long surfboard coffee table.  Stop by their store if you are in the Dallas area.  Hang ten, everyone.
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 Responses to “Weekend Show and Tell”

  1. Eric February 26, 2012 at 2:07 pm #

    I have that coffee table and love it.

    • Brandy February 26, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

      I am glad to know that. Where did you find it?

      Brandy

  2. Crystal in Texas February 26, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

    Really liking the Merimekko duvet…yellow and gray…nice! I am so happy when someone like you gathers all these gorgeous MCM images for us to see.

    Happily I have been to the Mid2Mod store in the first location AND had the pleasure of meeting Joe (a delightful fellow)! Regretfully I did not get to meet Dana but hope to do so the next time I up that way. I loved being able to see so much MCM furniture at the store and look forward to seeing all that is in the new store as well!

    • Brandy February 26, 2012 at 12:53 pm #

      Thank you so much! I am glad that you like the blog. And I am so jealous of the fact that you have easy access to Mid2Mod. Please tell everyone about it, as I hope they are very successful in their endeavors.

      Brandy

  3. Dana@Mid2Mod February 26, 2012 at 11:08 am #

    What a nice surprise…and an honor…to be featured on Mid-Century Modern Love, which is one of the very best blogs around.

    Even though we don’t ship, my SIL Joe will get shipping quotes for you and email you all the info, so all you have to do is contact the company.

    Enough about us though. I have to go back a ogle that gorgeous credenza with the turquoise lacquered interior. That thing is making me weak in the knees! 🙂

Leave a Reply

