Study Time

1 Feb

We have a desk in our family room that isn’t my favorite, to say the least. For one thing, it has a drawer with no back, so any papers in that drawer fall on the floor and are apparently too difficult to pick up for SOME people. Plus, the desk is more mission style and there out of necessity more than design choice.

You can kind of see it in this WAY before photo of the family room and kitchen.  Adding an after photo too, just as a joyful little reminder to myself of how far we’ve come. (Not exactly the same angle, but you get the drift.)

And luckily, I found another gem at the Mercer Island Thrift Store.  For $60, I bought this great mid-century desk that does everything I need: has a fold out side to hold a printer, has a big drawer with a back on it for papers and looks very mid-century and retro.  I love the handles!

The bad news is, that like everything else over 40, it’s a little worse for the wear. (Tell me about it!) And I intend to do what any good forty-something would do: hide the flaws.  I haven’t decided yet if I will paint it or try to sand and stain it. I am leaning toward paint because it will fit well with the dark browns of the kitchen and family room.  Not entirely sure yet.  What do you think?

Side-table thingy closed:

Side-table thingy open:

Cool handles:

Not so cool signs of aging:

Look for future post with the finished product!

6 Responses to “Study Time”

  1. kw February 2, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

    i say sand it down, and then use Watco Teak oil and Wax-n-feed and it will look better than new..

    • Brandy February 5, 2012 at 8:46 am #

      I have learned that the Wax n Feed is SO important. The dresser we sanded and oiled before is starting to look dry again, so I will be waxing it to keep that shine.

      Brandy

  2. Lynne van den Berg February 1, 2012 at 12:20 pm #

    Just want to say I love the colors you have chosen, your house is looking awesome, Lynne

  3. Dana@Mid2Mod February 1, 2012 at 10:10 am #

    I normally would say stain, but in this case I think I’m going to have to cast my vote for painting it so it ties in with the dark browns of the kitchen. Whatever you decide, I know it will be fabulous.

    • Brandy February 5, 2012 at 8:48 am #

      I think that’s where my head is too, Dana.

      B

Leave a Reply

