Dorian Gray

17 Jan

Painting a portrait of Dorian Gray wouldn’t be as difficult as choosing a gray color in my house. I don’t know if it’s the light or if I am just learning that there are a million versions of gray ranging from purplish to greenish and every other -ish in the rainbow. But I am downright confused.

After finishing the kitchen cabinets (finally!), the time has come to paint the kitchen. After much deliberation…green, orange, cream…we finally landed on the color.  And surprise surprise, guess what the inspiration was?  You guessed it.  The Orla containers. And I guess the title of the post is kind of a spoiler.  Yep, gray is our color.

We were also inspired by this palette from Design Seeds, which pairs green and gray so nicely.

For context, the kitchen and the family room are connected and very open, so the colors need to be complimentary and fit into the overall scheme of things. As you remember, we have already painted the family room Yolo Leaf 04.

Gray, it is. Now, which gray? I went and bought samples of all the non-bluish grays I could find. I put the ones I liked best on the wall next to the chalkboard and also to the green swatch we had on the wall when we temporarily considered painting the kitchen the same green as the family room. (And suddenly as I write that I start to think again that might be a good idea.)

So I am still at a loss as to which gray and I ask you dear readers for your advice. I know that color never translates well over a computer screen, but I will tell you my vote is with the bottom one next to the chalkboard, Behr Elephant Skin, the same gray that came to my rescue in the bathroom debacle. Other family members prefer the top one, which is a lighter gray. They are concerned the Elephant Skin will be too dark.

Again, I am flummoxed.  Help!  Please let me know your thoughts.  Green or gray?  And if gray, which gray?  Any of you have experience with gray you’d like to share?

4 Responses to “Dorian Gray”

  1. Dana@Mid2Mod January 17, 2012 at 9:56 am #

    I’m going to have to throw my vote in with Jamie’s. I like the top one too.

    You did such a good job un-purpling the bathroom that I’m sure whatever you finally choose will look wonderful.

    • Brandy January 18, 2012 at 8:32 pm #

      Jamie and Dana,
      You both chose the one everyone in the family (except myself) chose. I guess majority will rule given my history with gray. Stay tuned for the results soon!
      Brandy

  2. jamieshehan January 17, 2012 at 7:35 am #

    I like the top one next to the chalkboard. Gray is a devilish thing. We are using a color called partridge gray in our house as a neutral until we get it finished and splash color everywhere. It’s really light.

    I also (having a blog) like to think of which colors photograph best. I have no knowledge on that so I just narrow it down the way you just did. 🙂 Good luck!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Purple-free « mid-century MODERN LOVE - January 28, 2012

    […] will just start by saying I am pleased with it. Yes, indeed. Very happy. For once, we put a gray on the walls and got it right the first time, thanks to all of you and my family. Nary a purple […]

Leave a Reply

