Fashion Flow

30 Dec

Yep, I have a problem. Admitting it is the first step, right? I am a complete stalker at thrift stores now. Ever since finding my upholstered chair at Goodwill and my wood lounge chairs at the Mercer Island thrift store, I have the bug. And yesterday, I found another diamond in the rough.

I had seen this dresser at the store twice before and hadn’t bought it because…well…I didn’t need it. And truth be told, I still don’t. I told myself if it was there the third time I went by, that it would be mine. And it is. And it’s beautiful. And I love it. The drawers have dove-tail joints and the front is two-toned with gold inlay buttons. The top needs to be sanded and refinished. (Note to self:  really is time to buy a hand sander now.) There is a small mar on the top drawer and a little chink in the wood on the side, but other than that it is in perfect condition.

I justified the purchase by reminding my husband that he needed a dresser in our closet to get his various pieces of clothing off the floor in there. (I am not throwing stones. My clothes just pile up in other places, namely the thrift store chairs I have bought.) Alas, come to find out it’s too big for the closet.

It’s a Fashion Flow brand, with the tagline ‘America’s Smartest Furniture’. I haven’t been able to find out much about the brand. If you know anything about it, please let me know.

Now I just need to find a home for it in our home. I am sure I can make it happen. My next quest is a six or nine-drawer dresser for Maeve’s room. The tall five-drawer ones cannot nearly hold a teenage girl’s clothing collection. I am inspired by these two from Design Sponge and Young House Love. I particularly like they way they incorporated white into the refinish. If you live in our area and see one, please let me know!

9 Responses to “Fashion Flow”

  1. Michael December 4, 2012 at 7:13 am #

    I know I am late to the party on this subject, but I was hoping you would disclose how much you paid for this piece?

  2. Aunt Krissy! December 30, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    Brandy, you could use the dresser in the dinning room or bar area. Put a funky sunburst mirror over it with a mid-century modern lamp on top. Very cool!

    • Brandy December 30, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

      I love that idea! I walk by it everyday in the living room and think how cool it is and how I so don’t want to give it to the kids!

      xo
      B

  3. Ted December 30, 2011 at 11:03 am #

    Hey Brandy, congrats on the thrifting finds. It’s true, you really gotta be a stalker. And not only that, but ACT on it too….I’m STILL smarting over a matched set of six really cool Danish Modern dining chairs in extremely good condition on CL — for $175! — that I let get away recently; after being re-listed THREE times over as many weeks, they got sold ONE DAY before I inquired!

    Used to be you could find this MCM stuff easier & cheaper, but now even at the Habitat Restore they know what they got & price it accordingly (and even claim the MCM label when it’s not accurate). Makes those real bargains you do get that much sweeter.

    I clicked back on your “wood lounge chairs” post….brings me back (I’m 52); we had two such love seats in our basement rumpus room (yeah, we really did call it that back then)…..not partic. comfortable to sit on, truth be told, but man I wish I never let them get away while Mom & Dad were still alive; of course, had no appreciation for them 15 years ago. Even the pic of those brown rubberband-y supports felt like deja vu. You can prob. fix the broken band easily w/ wire.

    As an aside, have a brother & his family living for years (till recently) on Mercer Island, so even though I’m in NC I know the look a lot. I assume you’ve seen the great recent documentary about MCM architects in the Pacific Northwest?

    — Ted

    • Brandy December 30, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

      Hi Ted,
      Thanks so much for commenting. You were my inspiration today. Right after I saw your comment, I went on to Craigslist myself and found a great dresser for Maeve. I hesitated for a moment and then bought it! They are delivering it this afternoon and I will post about it soon. Stay tuned!
      Brandy

      • Brandy January 1, 2012 at 11:18 am #

        Hi Ted, I also meant to say that yes, I have seen the documentary about the NW MCM architects. The architect who designed our home is featured in it, Fred Bassetti. It’s a wonderful film. Thanks for reminding me of it.

        Brandy

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Magic of Teak Oil « mid-century MODERN LOVE - January 6, 2012

    […] the Perch sofa) and old vintage furniture that I have thrifted. More recently I wrote a post about this mid-century dresser that I found at the Mercer Island Thrift store. No one in the household was quite as enamoured with […]

  2. Wish and Ye Shall Receive « mid-century MODERN LOVE - January 2, 2012

    […] the other day when I was swooning over my new dresser find whilst simultaneously wishing for a low-boy mid-century dresser for Maeve? Well, I had a a […]

Leave a Reply

