Dream Houses

15 Dec

Okay, so I know this is total kitsch, but I love all these brilliant gingerbread houses that honor mid-century and modern architecture. And while we love beautiful design, I can pretty much guarantee that we will be making a traditional gingerbread house. From a box. Sorry. My talents only go so far.

From the University of Texas Architectural School blog, a gingerbread house of Le Corbusier’s flat roofed Villa Savoye. The house was the result of a contest sponsored by the Chicago Tribune celebrating Chicago architectural legacy (from whence all good things come).  Gorgeous.

From Baz at Atomic Indy, a gingerbread replica of his very awesome mid-century home. I so wish I could do this.

From an old post on Inhabitots, a lovely ‘Cake’ Study House 09 with banana succulents, almond cacti, hazelnut flowers, a pepper Palm tree, almond grass and pepper ferns. Modern pastry landscaping at its best.

eco-friendly gingerbread house, felt gingerbread houses, gingerbread, kristina hahn atelier, modern gingerbread house

I love this one for the Lifesaver Wintergreen MCM wall. Absolutely perfect from Craft_Schmaft on Flickr.

And the coup de grace would of course need inspiration from the master Frank Lloud Wright, a gingerbread house Falling Water. From Garden Melodies, the most gorgeous gingerbread house I have ever seen.  12 hours of work put into it! That is dedication.

 As I was rolling out the trash and recycling bins this morning, I was looking at our house and thinking  maybe I could do that.  Except I have no idea how to make gingerbread that thin. Does anyone have a recipe to share?

UPDATE:

Don’t want to leave out chocolate houses and furniture too…

From Notcot, a chocolate Eames house…

eames1.jpg

From reader Lynne, check out this amazing Mies van Der Rohe bed cake!

111809chocolate-couch0.jpg

7 Responses to “Dream Houses”

  1. KMP Modern March 27, 2013 at 3:48 pm #

    Fantastic picks. That Falling Water is amazing, but who could not love the Mies Van Der Rohe cake. It looks like it could feed an army! I’m totally hungry for some architectural sugar now!

  2. Lynne van den Berg December 16, 2011 at 6:42 am #

    Great post Brandy. Did you see the Mies van der Rohe Day Bed Cake? Lynne

    • Brandy December 16, 2011 at 6:49 am #

      No! But I just looked it up and it’s wonderful. I will add as a post-script! Thanks for sharing.

      Brandy

  3. Rex December 15, 2011 at 12:33 pm #

    MMM….Villa Savoye looks especially scrumptious!

    • Brandy December 15, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

      I know, right? Not sure I could eat it though!

      B

  4. Tina December 15, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    That Falling Water house is amazing. I wouldn’t begin to know how to do that. I’ve been to the actual house a couple of times and it really captures the feel of it. Sorry, no recipes for ginger bread.

    • Brandy December 15, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

      I love that house. It’s really amazing. Even more in sugar!

      B

Leave a Reply

