Other People’s Homes

3 Dec

This home isn’t from a reader, it’s from the stylish blog Design Milk. I couldn’t resist sharing it though because it’s pretty much ten tons of gorgeousness. It inspires me because it is set in a very similar environment to our house. The original color of our house was also a stained dark brown that has now been painted over with tan. My goal is to eventually re-paint it back to the brown, though it has lost that wonderful texture of stained wood siding.

Mid Century Modern By BassamFellows

Mid Century Modern By BassamFellows

Mid Century Modern By BassamFellows

Mid Century Modern By BassamFellows

I have had an allergy to using stones that weren’t geometrical for things like retaining walls, but in this context it works and I will be reconsidering that choice for sure. Especially pay attention to the stone garage.  Mid-century lines but organic stone materials. Wow. Talk about staying true to mid-century modern values.

Mid Century Modern By BassamFellows

I was less fond of the interior because I can’t imagine raising a big brood of kids there. I am finally settling into my preference of warm woody colorful interiors while some of these rooms qualify, on the whole it feels a little cold to me.  I do love the furniture though. Pitch-perfect choices for a house like this. What do you think?

Mid Century Modern By BassamFellows

Mid Century Modern By BassamFellows

Mid Century Modern By BassamFellows

Mid Century Modern By BassamFellows

Mid Century Modern By BassamFellows

Mid Century Modern By BassamFellows

Mid Century Modern By BassamFellows

Mid Century Modern By BassamFellows

 

2 Responses to “Other People’s Homes”

  1. Lynne van den Berg December 3, 2011 at 11:11 am #

    Inspirational and well done. I too really like the stone element, it adds a wonderful contrast of textures, wood, glass and stone. The setting is spectacular.

    • Brandy December 4, 2011 at 8:37 am #

      I thought so too. It’s a perfect example of what I hope to achieve with our house.

Leave a Reply

