Holiday MCM DIY

2 Dec

Falling under the category of things I like to think I will do but probably won’t (and will most likely encourage the kids to do) is this collection of Holiday projects from my Pinterest board. I am realizing this is an interesting fantasy phenomena for me, these DIY projects because I never DI them. Today my excuse is that I don’t have time. But maybe my husband was closer to the truth. I am just not that person. Regardless, I really want at least one of these in my house this holiday season. (Maeve…get the hint.)

From Design Sponge, these modern paper ornaments are a great hanging decoration and would look awesome in the transition from the kitchen to the living room.  We even have the filament thread around here somewhere.

Pinned Image

These pom-poms were everywhere in the 60s and I love this take on a garland from Small Bird.

While maybe not exactly MCM, I can’t help but love these melting snowman cookies from Crazy Domestic. ‘Help! I’m melting!  I’m meltinggggg……’

Not quite a ‘great big shiny aluminum Christmas tree’ but modern enough from (ugh, dare I say it?) Better Homes and Gardens.  Yep, that’s right. Your mother’s magazine. I guess what could be more mid-century than that, eh?

And in the category of ‘Project Brandy Could Probably Do’. these paint chip tree ornaments from a long string of pinners on Pinterest! (I gave up trying to find the original poster after going through about 20 pinboards.) It’s pretty self-explanatory though…paint chip strip, button, twine.  Knock yourself out.

Pinned Image

Late breaking addition:  I saw this on No Pattern Required this afternoon and if you know me well, you know near and dear my wine is to me. What could be better than a reindeer wine bottle cover. How fantastic is that?

5 Responses to “Holiday MCM DIY”

  1. Rita Ott Ramstad December 3, 2011 at 8:25 am #

    Really like the paint chip trees–they are so simple. Now kicking myself for recycling a bunch earlier this year. Maybe I need to paint a room green just so I have some chips the right color…?

    • Brandy December 3, 2011 at 8:40 am #

      I’m always game for painting a room. Check out the Yolo paints, though they don’t have those long cool paint chips. You can see the Leaf 04 in a lot of my posts. It’s a great MCM almost avocado-ish color.

      Happy holidays!
      Brandy

  2. Rex December 2, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

    Those paper ornaments are too adorable!

    • Brandy December 2, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

      Aren’t they great? I got home from work tonight and Maeve had made some and hung them in the family room. A little hin never hurts!

      Brandy

  3. Vanessa Reilly December 2, 2011 at 8:28 am #

    I’m going to share this on my MCM FB page. Great ideas!!

Leave a Reply

