Let’s Get Naked!

1 Dec

I’m talking about taking it all off, baby. In the metaphorical sense, of course. This is a family friendly blog site…most of the time. What I’m really talking about is the kitchen. I am taking the leap with the cabinets after much kvetching over the color and an endless gathering of opinions. It’s the brown. The ubiquitous Benjamin Moore Bitter Chocolate that is the floor trim and the $10 Habitat for Humanity media center will now grace the kitchen cabinets.

We toyed around with a variety of colors, but my initial gut was the brown and it still is. I don’t know why, honestly. These cabniets have seen better days and a coat of paint will be their last hurrah before we swoop in with some mid-century gorgeousness in the future. I could have chosen a crazy color like the orange or the green since it is fairly temporary. Someone had even suggested a warm white but GAWD, the fingerprints! Brown stole my heart from the beginning and I’m committing.

Turns out, that is the easy part. Getting engaged and planning a wedding…FUN! Doing the work on the marriage, not so fun. Just the research on how to do it right made me tired. But here’s what I learned (excerpted from This Old House):

  • Both oil and latex paints will do the job and provide a good finish. If you do use a latex paint, make sure it is a 100 percent acrylic, which offers greater durability and adhesion than vinyl acrylic paints.
  • “Surface prep,” says sales representative Brett Shinn, of Harrison Paint Corp., “is at least 75 percent, maybe as much as 90 percent, of the success of a repaint.”
  • Remove the cabinet doors and drawers.
  • You should strip the wood and sand it. Though a simple cleaning and a light sanding might do the trick if it’s a shorter term solution…check!
  • Fill nicks and dings with putty.
  • Prime and sand again.
  • Paint. They recommend high gloss as the best stain resisting finish.
  • Paint again.
  • Let dry.
  • Let dry some more.
  • Get some snazzy new hardware and re-install those puppies.

Yeah, that sounds like an awful lot of work for a lazy DIYer, huh? (Do ‘lazy’ and ‘DIY’ even belong in the same sentence? Yep, if the sentence also contains the word ‘poor’.) Then I remembered hearing that Rustoleum had come out wiht a cabinet painting solution that was supposed to be hella easier than that. I had read about it a while ago and started searching. Yep, there it was. Rustoleum Cabinet Transformation…..ahhhhhh!  I think I hear angels.

The site description says it all:

What exactly is Cabinet Transformations®? Quite simply, its an innovative coating system that completely changes the look of old, worn cabinets into the look of beautiful hand-crafted cabinetry, at a fraction of the cost of installing new – without the downtime or mess associated with cabinet replacement or refacing. Say goodbye to the thought of a messy demolition, over budget contractors and weeks of disarray in your home. Plus, there’s no stripping, no sanding and no priming required, so its super easy to do!

Ummm…yeah. Sign me up for that. All you have to do (according to them) is:

  • Apply deglosser.
  • Apply bond coat.
  • Apply decorative glaze. (Optional! You could save even more time!)
  • Apply protective top coat.

You had me at ‘optional’. This is the way we’re going, friends. Decision made. (And no, I do not get paid for this. At all. They don’t even know who I am.)

You have to use their colors because that’s the ‘bond coat’ but I think I can live with that. They have a Chocolate that is a lot lighter than the Benjamin Moore one, but their ‘Espresso’ looks right.

Espresso

My mother in law, the Incredible Ida of previous posts, found it in her kind heart to remove the cabinet doors today while she was here helping take care of Brett while I am at work. She has a lot of energy and needs things to do, God bless her. (She also made enchiladas for our supper too!) So now the kitchen is naked! You get to see all the innards and intimates messes of what hides behind the doors. It’s actually not too bad, but it looks cluttered and cluttered freaks me out. So this has got to get finished pronto.

I am heading to Home Depot this weekend to pick up my kitchen transformation kits and will keep you all updated on the progress. Wish me luck!

8 Responses to “Let’s Get Naked!”

  1. Eddie October 10, 2012 at 3:26 pm #

    I have a question for you, Did you use the glaze?

    • Brandy@midcenturymodernlove.com November 1, 2012 at 9:33 am #

      Hi Eddie,

      Apologies for the delayed response. No, we did not use the glaze. It felt less sleak to us. Hope this wasn’t too late to help you!

      Brandy

  2. Stephanie St.Mary December 2, 2011 at 11:41 am #

    I need an “Ida” in my life! Enchiladas too? Fantastic! I look forward to seeing the finished product. Thanks for the great ideas.

    • Brandy December 2, 2011 at 11:46 am #

      I got pretty lucky in the in-law department! Thanks for reading!

      Brandy

  3. jerrygropp December 2, 2011 at 8:34 am #

    Never know just what’s going on over the ravine. J-

    • Brandy December 2, 2011 at 11:07 am #

      Always a good time, Jerry!

      B

  4. Ida December 1, 2011 at 7:40 am #

    can’t wait until I see the progress on Tuesday. I do like that darker color.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hallelujah! « mid-century MODERN LOVE - January 3, 2012

    […] angels singing on high. You know why they’re singing, right? Because I bloody well finished painting the kitchen cabinets, that’s why. And let me tell you, the angels in heaven better sing because that was […]

Leave a Reply

