Weekend Show and Tell

27 Nov

From the category of ‘oh-my-god-aren’t-you-lovely’ (and Remodelista), comes the company Architectural Pottery and their clean, crisp pottery design from mid-century inspiration. Pricey, but not over the top, these pieces are worth investing in.

As if I don’t gush enough about art I find on Etsy (like Matte Stephens), check out these mid-century inspired prints from the Pool Pony shop. Museum grade pigment prints, these are remarkably affordable and unique. I think I need two to hang over my imagined-and-as-yet-not-acquired Gracie Sofa from Perch.

mid century design art print - colour set

For me, the DIY crafts list I am collecting is kind of depressing. There are all these great ideas out there being created by people with much more crafting talent (and inclination and time) than I. However, if I could sew and if I had any idea how to make things like this, I would embark on this DIY project of gorgeous floor pillows. I love how tailored and tidy these look. Can’t you imagine them in an Orla pattern?

And one more DIY project I will only fantasize about getting to, from HowAboutOrange, Catherine Holm votive holders. Very lovely, very creative and very much affordable. Read more about these designs here.

And just to prove I am not completely enamoured with everything mid-century, I have to introduce you to Mid-Century Menu, a blog devoted to the culinary trends of that time, including as you see below Rock Cornish Hens with Chip (yes, potato chip) Stuffing.  Yum. (No wonder Julia Child went to France to find good food!)

2 Responses to “Weekend Show and Tell”

  1. RetroRuth February 22, 2012 at 1:50 pm #

    Thanks for the shout-out! The potato chip book that photo came from has TONS of awesome recipes…which I am totally planning on trying out on the blog. 😉

    • Brandy February 22, 2012 at 2:44 pm #

      You’re welcome. I will look out for it on the blog!

      Brandy

Leave a Reply

