Winner, winner! Chicken Dinner!

20 Oct

I am not a winner.  That is not to say that I am a loser, just that in contests or giveaways I don’t win much. I am sure part of this has to do with the fact that I don’t enter much either. It reminds me of an old New Yorker cartoon that depicts a man on his knees praying to win the lottery. God is above him with a caption that reads something like ‘If only you’d buy a ticket.” There are a lot of life levels on which we could explore that quote, but let’s leave it at contest entering for now.

That being said, I entered something. And…you guessed it…I won! Part of blogging is being an active member in the blogging community. I subscribe to almost 100 blogs on mid-century modern, modern design, architecture and home improvement to gather information to share with you and to also use as inspiration. My brother turned me on to a great blog called Grassrootsmodern whose mission is:

Grassroots Modern was started to help those who are looking for a modern contemporary style at an affordable price. We hope to be able to connect passionate designers with the masses and become a catalyst for change in the modern contemporary world.

Sounds good, right? Sign me up! And I did sign up. And it was worth it. Great regular information with a more-than-sometimes bend to MCM design, most likely because one of the authors Creede Fitch (ummm…great name) love MCM. (He also has a dog named Ainsley…another great name).

And not only did I sign up for their blog, I also entered the recent contest for a Parvez Taj print. Some of you may remember the Parvez Taj of Shiva that I have hanging in our entry way from the paint-the-inside-of-the-front-door-green post.

I love Parvez Taj’s work. I love the creative range of his media use. I love the exploration of the sacred with a healthy dash of secular overlay. I am gushing now. But I love it. So when Grassrootsmodern introduced a contest to win a print from the Parvez Taj recycled wood collection, I entered. Duh.

Taj has a new series of work done on recycled wood and to enter the contest you had to comment on which you liked best and why. I chose Casa del Herrero.  My comment, left on their Facebook page and website to be doubly sure they saw it, was:

I love it because I grew up near Mexico and it reminds me of all the vibrant colors in the palette of Mexican ceramics.

casa del herrero

Easy peasy, right? I entered and promptly forgot about it as our family traveled to NYC this week. (More on that later.) On the plane on the way home (God bless in-flight wifi), I saw a ping-back on the green door post from Grassrootsmodern announcing that I’d won!  Yep, I won a Parvez Taj print of the recycled wood collection.  Wow, right? I am not sure if it’s the one I said I liked best or another, but hey beggers entrants can’t be choosers.

6 Responses to “Winner, winner! Chicken Dinner!”

  1. Creede Fitch October 25, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    Congrats again! I was excited to see it going to someone who will really appreciate it.

  2. Andy October 20, 2011 at 8:15 am #

    Yay! Congrats! Can’t wait to see it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Inmod Chair Giveaway « mid-century MODERN LOVE - January 5, 2012

    […] all know how lucky I’ve been lately, right?  After winning the Parvez Taj piece, I’m all about contests now. And this week Inmod  is celebrating their new website redesign […]

  2. Luck Be a Lady « mid-century MODERN LOVE - November 30, 2011

    […] since I actually won something (read about it here) and ever since I did my first blog giveaway (here), I am all about contests. This is kind of weird […]

  3. It’s not easy being green… | mid-century MODERN LOVE - November 2, 2011

    […] Remember this color? Yolo Leaf 04? The one that was lovely in the entryway/living room but looked like something that came out of a baby’s hind end according to some?  It’s also the one we put on the inside of the front door that highlights our Parvez Taj print of Jin. (Can’t wait for the new one!) […]

  4. Drumroll please…. | mid-century MODERN LOVE - October 31, 2011

    […] The big one. I figured what better way to start my 40s than with some good Karma.  Plus, I had won a Parvez Taj piece of artwork recently and figured paying it forward was good […]

Leave a Reply

