Kitchen Cabinets

15 Oct

In our phases approach, the phase one for the kitchen is painting the walls and cabinets. Originally, I wanted to paint the cabinets orange. My thought was that we would eventually get new cabinets when we re-do the kitchen in phase two (or phase final, rather) and why not do something I would never do with permanent cabinets? I was inspired by kitchen photos and a friend of mine who painted her cabinets orange too. I envisioned something like this and this:

Now, this wouldn’t be the first time one could say I am taking something too far, in this case my orange obsession. And in all honesty, these kitchens probably look better in a museum quality house full of white furniture that would never last with our brood.  Ultimately, I think we would like to end up somewhere like this or this:

With that in mind, as well as the ultimate Orla kitchen canister palette, we decided to throw some color on the cabinets to see what stuck. We used colors that have all already made a debut in our house and have worked well. We used Benjamin Moore Bittersweet Chocolate, Yolo Leaf 04 and Petal 01 and Behr Elephant Skin. And this is how it looks:

I have to say that despite my desire to do something more bold, I think I prefer the Bittersweet Chocolate. I like the way it echoes the brown trim around the door in the dining room and I think it will be less shocking with the Leaf green walls of the family room. Plus the orange is an entirely different color on the cabinet than it appears to be on the wall.  What do you think? I need opinions!

Update:  I just saw this photo of a gorgeous kitchen painted in Benjamin Moore Gray 2121-10 in Remodelista.  Man, decisions, decisions.

13 Responses to “Kitchen Cabinets”

  1. pam kueber November 16, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

    I vote for the Orla green. Like the background of this here blog. You know what I think of greige…

    • Brandy November 16, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

      I do! I like the Orla green as well, but the adjacent family room is also that green and it may be a bit much. Then again, maybe not. Living with the colors for a bit before taking the plunge. Thanks for reading!

      Brandy

  2. The Mod Cabin October 16, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

    I’m a die hard fan of gray, so I’m voting for the remodelista! I love the way it gives the kitchen an industrial feel, too. I realize that may not be the desired effect you’re going for, of course. Then you could use orange dinnerware for a splash of color!

    Hmmm….I think I voted for the gray couch a few posts back, too. I see a pattern. 😉

    • Brandy October 16, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

      i do see a pattern! but i like gray too. you are the only non-brown vote so far!

  3. Kari D October 15, 2011 at 10:48 pm #

    Choc brown all the way! Love your blog…keep it up!

    • Brandy October 16, 2011 at 9:33 am #

      Thanks, Kari. Looks like brown is winning hand’s down!

  4. Trish October 15, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    I vote for the darkest color – bittersweet chocolate. Name is appropriate too!

    • Brandy October 15, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

      Okay…chocolate – 2. Other colors – 0.

  5. Kate October 15, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    We like the darkest color, but wonder if you could do a similar varnish, instead of opaque paint.

    • Brandy October 15, 2011 at 10:57 am #

      Good idea. I will look into that. I am wondering about the labor involved in varnishing versus painting. The cabinets are in sad shape. But I will investigate and it’s a great idea for a future post. Thanks!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hallelujah! « mid-century MODERN LOVE - January 3, 2012

    […] looks pretty good. (If you drink three glasses of pinot gris and squint, that is). After serious agonizing over the color, choosing the deep brown proved to be the right choice. It gives a wonderful warmth and richness to […]

  2. Let’s Get Naked! « mid-century MODERN LOVE - December 1, 2011

    […] I’m really talking about is the kitchen. I am taking the leap with the cabinets after much kvetching over the color and an endless gathering of opinions. It’s the brown. The ubiquitous Benjamin Moore Bitter […]

  3. Weekend Show and Tell | mid-century MODERN LOVE - November 13, 2011

    […] bold yellow cabinets. Lovely. I admire people who just go for it with color. Making me rethink the kitchen cabinets.  Yet […]

Leave a Reply

