Oh the (Habitat for) Humanity!

29 Aug

I am starting to get a hang of this thrifting thing. We explored a new venue last weekend, the Habitat for Humanity outlet and it was kind of mind-blowing. I had no idea this place even existed or all the different kinds of things they carried.  I thought maybe we’d see some old kitchen cabinets and windows and doors. But I was completely unprepared for the plethora of home improvement supplies and the prices.

After getting lost (notice a theme with me and getting lost?), we finally pulled up to the warehouse to find a tent sale in front with a variety of desks, cabinets and tables in various states of disrepair. There was one item that caught our eye though, a very mid-century entertainment type center with space for a record player and records. For $10. Yep. $10. I decided I needed to think on it and went in to explore.

And wow. This place had EVERYTHING. And I mean everything.

Paint, light bulbs, lumber, doors, cabinets, tubs, toilets, furniture…the works. There was so much cool stuff I couldn’t believe I’d never heard of this. And not only was there cool stuff at super cheap prices (like a SubZero refrigerator/freezer for $900!), you can also pat yourself on the back for helping the environment and a great cause.

And finally, the best part of the trip was the awesome score we did end up taking home. I just couldn’t resist it. And for $10, what have I got to lose? I think a little paint or refinishing, haven’t decided yet, and this will be a beautiful piece for the family room to house games and videos. Maeve and Ainsley want to get a record player and pick up some albums at the Mercer Island Thrift Shop. Brett and I want to use it for a TV stand and get rid of the old Ikea one in the family room. Guess we’ll have to see. Fodder for a future post. Stay tuned!

8 Responses to “Oh the (Habitat for) Humanity!”

  1. Trish August 29, 2011 at 6:46 pm #

    OOOOOOOOOOOooooooooooooo! Where is it?

    • Brandy August 29, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

      It’s south of SODO on Nevada, which isn’t really a street even. I can’t really explain how to get there but check out the website. Hope you don’t get lost like I do!

      http://www.seattle-habitat.org/outlet/

  2. rhanvintage August 29, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    Very cool. I’ve been wanting to visit a HFH store for a long time. Unfortunately the closest one to me is about 1.5 hour drive. I fear making the trip and not finding anything MCM.

    • Brandy August 29, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

      I can totally understand that. It’s probably best for building materials. But we got lucky!

  3. Corina Montalvo August 29, 2011 at 7:49 am #

    Great stuff, Nick will go by our local store too looking for items for our rental properties.

    • Brandy August 29, 2011 at 8:00 am #

      I had no idea it was such a great place. I learned about the outlet stores from another of my favorite blogs, http://www.younghouselove.com. Thought I would try to find one out here and I am so glad I did!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Play It Again, Sam | mid-century MODERN LOVE - October 14, 2011

    […] while back I wrote a post on our outing to the Habitat to Humanity store and the mid-century furniture piece we scored there for $10. Yes, $10. That’s right […]

  2. Crazy Craigslist-ers | mid-century MODERN LOVE - October 5, 2011

    […] them off of wood with a good scrubbing or wiping down, which is why I am completely fine picking up $10 MCM pieces like the one we got at Habitat for Humanity this summer. Brett is working on this as an […]

Leave a Reply

