Weekend Show and Tell 7-31

31 Jul

I love the blog world. It connects you to so many people. I found another Seattle blogger this week, Modern Thrifter, whose thrifting abilities both inspire and intimidate me. I just had no idea so many wonderful things could be found so inexpensively. Love the olive-green sofa. Check out her blog and her lovely living room. This room also convinces me that white walls and dark beams are the way to go. Now I just have to figure out which white.

Etsy has a wonderful series on their blog called ‘Get The Look Decor’.  This week it focused on a mid-century design and I fell in love with this recycled wood hanging. I think it would look perfect over my imaginary modern gray sofa that I know I will find for free on Craigslist someday. They are custom-made and you can specify the accent colors you like…something like olive-green and orange would be my dream. At $199 with $50 shipping, it’s a bit pricey for us, but I love the look and innovative use of old wood.

Recycled Wood Wall Hanging

It must have been mid-century week in the blogosphere because Apartment Therapy’s American Style series also featured mid-century too.  If you want a thorough and accessible history of mid-century development, definitely check out this post.

And brought to you from my personal category of ‘Oh. My. God.’ is a secluded writer’s retreat featured in the blog Happiness Is.  And my happiness would definitely be a place like this to go and write that great American novel I keep meaning to get to. I love that there are no roads to it and it just sits all alone like that in the middle of nowhere. I can already hear the rain on the roof.  Sigh.

Happy Sunday everyone!  Here’s to hoping the sun comes out.

Brandy

Leave a Reply

