Weekend Show and Tell – July 24

24 Jul

Lots of ‘ooohs’ and ‘ahhhs’ this week courtesy of Michelle, Pinterest, book lust and my endless seeking after cool mid-century stuff on the internets.

Humor in the kitchen with the most awesome knife block ever called ‘The Ex’:

We all know about my obsession with love of all things Orla. In addition to the notebooks and pencils I’ve been using, she has come out with a very hefty hardback book about her approach to Patterns. I ordered it last week and I can’t stop looking at it.

Pattern[Hardcover]

Another book I can’t get enough of is Laurie David’s The Family Dinner. How very mid-century and old-fashioned and completely relevant  this book is for modern parenting.  We sit down to dinner almost every night during the school year, but we get a little loosey-goosey during the summer.  This book has inspired me to try to get us all around the table (or patio) more.

And because I seem to be a one-track thinker on books lately, check out this imaginative use for old books from Herman Miller, the book docking station!

Finally, check out this thoughtful renovation of a mid-century house up in Lake Forest Park brought to us by Apartment Therapy. These lines are very similar to the ones in our home and I dream someday that we can get to something this beautiful.

That’s it for the weekend.  And lest you think all I do is sit around dreaming about stuff for our house instead of actually doing anything to the house, stay tuned this week for some fun progress updates.  But for today, it’s the All-Island Garage sale (where we hope to find some mid-century bargains), volunteering at the Farmer’s Market (come by and say hi to me at the Info booth), some beach time at Groveland and then Music in the Park at Mercerdale.  Whew! I am tired just thinking about it.

Happy Sunday everyone!

4 Responses to “Weekend Show and Tell – July 24”

  1. Norelle July 24, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    i have been wanting to check out the family dinner cookbook. might have to go to the bookstore today and get it!

    • Brandy July 24, 2011 at 9:54 am #

      It is awesome. I can’t put it down. I think you will love it.
      xo
      b

  2. Kate July 24, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    That last photo of the house looks just like Lauren’s house, which you have to see!

    • Brandy July 24, 2011 at 9:54 am #

      Sorry I couldn’t make it Thursday. Going to try for tomorrow. Can’t wait to see it.

Leave a Reply

